We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachcomber a really good find”
Review of Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcomber
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
gatw
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beachcomber a really good find”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Beachcomber for 1 night and found the guest house very welcoming our room was very comfortable and very quiet. We got a really good nights sleep. The ensuite was really good and our room was well equipped. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice and a good view - shame about the weather! We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and it was so quiet -lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
28
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silsoe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Thanks to Richard and Debbie for an enjoyable 3 night stay whilst we completed several stages of The Wales Coast Path Walk. The rooms were clean, breakfast good and I liked the small bar in the guest lounge. The location for the coast path could not have been better as it passes in front of the B&B and its location to central Swansea was very convenient.
All in all a very good value for money stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were travelling with our 2 children (aged 6 and 4). Location was wonderful, overlooking the sea from the window. The room was really tiny for 4 people (a king-size bed and a single bed by the window) but very clean and ensuite was perfect. Coffee/tea facilities and TV were in the room.Toiletries and plenty of towels were provided by the owner. Full cooked breakfast was gorgeous in the morning and the owner was very helpful.
A convenient possibility to buy take-away food and consume it inside the dining room of the guest-house is provided.
The guesthouse is walking distance from both beach and towncentre. very well located.
A really cheap and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Iron, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Beachcomber at the end of June 2013. Fantastic location (although we highly recommend taking a taxi - it can be quite the trek with luggage). You are right on the beach, can't get any closer unless you are sleeping in the sand! It's less than a 5 minute walk to the city center and there are some great places to eat nearby. Richard and Debbie were fantastic and made us feel very at home! They are full of great information about Swansea and can almost always answer any questions, or point you in the right direction.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a beachfront view, some don't - so if that's something you really want, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

booked for one night only - the price was fair and reflects the accommodation.

whilst the owners were very pleasant and friendly (the usual Welsh reception), the room (double) was tiny, beyond "quaint" !

the room was in desperate need of some modernisation, carpets need replacing, but the ensuite was very clean and appeared to have been recently fitted.

sorry, but although this was great value for a single night, I would not recommend for any longer than this

Room Tip: the property is situated on the main road through Swansea and the traffic is constant all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppysteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for a week at this pleasant family-run hotel. Richard and debbie were really welcoming hosts. The breakfasts were excellent; more than could be eaten! The only drawback about the location is car parking problems. This is mainly at the door of Swansea Council, who seem to wish to deter visitors who arrive in cars! Our room was comfortable and very tidy. Thanks to our hosts.

Room Tip: Our first floor room overlooking the road was quiet because of the clever windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The property is run by couple Richard and Debbie who were courteous and always ready to help. The property has 8 en-suite rooms. The rooms are small but were okay for us as we did not have much luggage, just one backpack. People with a couple of boxes and tall build may find it cramped. We got room no 7 which was beach facing and the views were excellent. They serve full English breakfast in the morning consisting of toast, scrambled or poached or fried eggs, jam, butter, baked beans, sausage, juice and coffee. They also have a full bar, which surprisingly was very inexpensive. Richard is ever willing to help and gave us tips about places and directions. All in all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kambigap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.6 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
3.2 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White House
The White House
#14 of 22 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber

Property: Beachcomber
Address: 364 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Swansea
Beachcomber Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing