We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tryly pleasant stay”
Review of Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachcomber
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Pordenone, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tryly pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were travelling with our 2 children (aged 6 and 4). Location was wonderful, overlooking the sea from the window. The room was really tiny for 4 people (a king-size bed and a single bed by the window) but very clean and ensuite was perfect. Coffee/tea facilities and TV were in the room.Toiletries and plenty of towels were provided by the owner. Full cooked breakfast was gorgeous in the morning and the owner was very helpful.
A convenient possibility to buy take-away food and consume it inside the dining room of the guest-house is provided.
The guesthouse is walking distance from both beach and towncentre. very well located.
A really cheap and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
30
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Iron, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Beachcomber at the end of June 2013. Fantastic location (although we highly recommend taking a taxi - it can be quite the trek with luggage). You are right on the beach, can't get any closer unless you are sleeping in the sand! It's less than a 5 minute walk to the city center and there are some great places to eat nearby. Richard and Debbie were fantastic and made us feel very at home! They are full of great information about Swansea and can almost always answer any questions, or point you in the right direction.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a beachfront view, some don't - so if that's something you really want, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

booked for one night only - the price was fair and reflects the accommodation.

whilst the owners were very pleasant and friendly (the usual Welsh reception), the room (double) was tiny, beyond "quaint" !

the room was in desperate need of some modernisation, carpets need replacing, but the ensuite was very clean and appeared to have been recently fitted.

sorry, but although this was great value for a single night, I would not recommend for any longer than this

Room Tip: the property is situated on the main road through Swansea and the traffic is constant all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppysteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for a week at this pleasant family-run hotel. Richard and debbie were really welcoming hosts. The breakfasts were excellent; more than could be eaten! The only drawback about the location is car parking problems. This is mainly at the door of Swansea Council, who seem to wish to deter visitors who arrive in cars! Our room was comfortable and very tidy. Thanks to our hosts.

Room Tip: Our first floor room overlooking the road was quiet because of the clever windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The property is run by couple Richard and Debbie who were courteous and always ready to help. The property has 8 en-suite rooms. The rooms are small but were okay for us as we did not have much luggage, just one backpack. People with a couple of boxes and tall build may find it cramped. We got room no 7 which was beach facing and the views were excellent. They serve full English breakfast in the morning consisting of toast, scrambled or poached or fried eggs, jam, butter, baked beans, sausage, juice and coffee. They also have a full bar, which surprisingly was very inexpensive. Richard is ever willing to help and gave us tips about places and directions. All in all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kambigap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not really a weekend, we arrived on Sunday and stayed 'til Tuesday. Richard was very accommodating, the room was clean and although not very big was comfortable warm and had fantastic views over Swansea Bay. The Breakfast was excellent, no problem with my gluten intolerance, Richard even made me a sandwich to take with me on one of our jaunts.
All in all, highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed during a bank holiday weekend and really enjoyed the mood. The family that runs the gust house are simply lovely with a nice Welsh accent! They love conversation and gave us interesting tips on Welsh culture. Our two-years-old son, Matteo, loves the room and the environment. If you pass to Swansea this is a place to stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.2 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
987 reviews
3.0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White House
The White House
#15 of 22 in Swansea
162 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber

Property: Beachcomber
Address: 364 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run; friendly guesthouse, located on the seafront of stunning Swansea Bay. A short walk into town, university, Grand Theatre, LC2 and Brangwyn Hall. Lots of local restaurants and pubs, plenty more plus night life in town. A short drive from the Mumbles and the wonderful Gower beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Swansea
Beachcomber Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing