We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place in front of the sea with a Lovely family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcomber
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place in front of the sea with a Lovely family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed during a bank holiday weekend and really enjoyed the mood. The family that runs the gust house are simply lovely with a nice Welsh accent! They love conversation and gave us interesting tips on Welsh culture. Our two-years-old son, Matteo, loves the room and the environment. If you pass to Swansea this is a place to stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
26
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with the fiancée for 2nights. I stayed here a couple of years ago when visiting friends at the uni and it lived up to my memory of the place.

We travelled in after work and arrived late evening. This was no problem for Richard and Debbie. We were welcomed in and after signing in Richard showed us to our room he even carried my fiancée's bag.

The room was a lovely en suite double. The bed was lovely and comfortable. The tea and coffee facilities in the room were welcome after our long journey. The newspaper in the room along with the information packs were nice touches as was the makeup remover in the bathroom.

Several people commented on the traffic noise however we had a sea view room and it really wasn't noticeable.

The breakfast was lovely a full English was well cooked and the perfect size.

The beachcomber deserves the 3stars it has and more a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Richard and Debbie are lovely very warm and welcoming. The little touches they provide and the home from home feel they create at there guest house makes this a lovely place I'd recommend to anyone. I'd have no hesitation in booking in to the beachcomber if I needed a stay in Swansea.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

First, we didn't wonder why the owner wanted the £50 on arrival. Later we realized why: old, shabby, tiny, dirty room (everything was dusty from the top of the wardrobe, bedside table, kettle to the bathroom bin...). When showering (with rather cold water) we suddendly stood in a "lake", as the drain pipe apparantely is totally blocked. After complaining they offered us another room which was hardly in a better state. Breakfast was okay, even though I expected a fresh tomato instead of one out of a can. I wouldn't have paid £50, if I had to pay in the morning. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank weja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed there for one day only, but totally loved it! The owners are very friendly and helpful. I was staying in a en-suite room - it has everything you need - TV (about 20 channels, however, you can get more downstairs in the lounge), tea/coffee making facilities, lots of cookies (thanks!), all the toiletries as well. The room was very clean - can't complain! Breakfast is included in the price. It was very nice to find a folder about the history of Swansea - very educating! The guest house is very close to the city centre, about 10-15 min walk and it only takes about 5 minutes to the beach! Very good value for money! Highly recommended for any occasion!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silencio-profundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

just had a w/end break in swansea, stayed at the Beachcomber on Oystermouth rd. What a really,really lovely place. Very clean, good choice of breakfasts, excellent owners could`nt do enough for you, nothing was a problem for them.Many many thanks to Richard Baber for a wonderful relaxing stay, can`t wait to go back soon!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, staying in front might bother you as traffic passes, but i am a relative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debrariddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I rang on the off chance that they might have a single room available on the day of my stay and they did, the manager was very helpful upon my arrival and the room rate was very reasonable. The room was clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facility (inc. biscuits) with clean bedding, hotel information etc. with TV and en-suite. The breakfast was amazing and very satisfying. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Parking is available outside the hotel between the hours of 6pm and 8am then it becomes an express...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danwillashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kr.sand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

The beachcomber in Swansea had top service. The roomshad all you need. good breakfast. I want to thank the owner Richard Baber, a gentlemans gentleman. Always asking if you were ok, and if there were anything we needed. just a few minutes walk from centre of city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norvege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.6 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White House
The White House
#14 of 24 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hurst Dene Hotel
Hurst Dene Hotel
#19 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber

Property: Beachcomber
Address: 364 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Swansea
Beachcomber Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing