We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend in swansea”
Review of Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachcomber
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

just had a w/end break in swansea, stayed at the Beachcomber on Oystermouth rd. What a really,really lovely place. Very clean, good choice of breakfasts, excellent owners could`nt do enough for you, nothing was a problem for them.Many many thanks to Richard Baber for a wonderful relaxing stay, can`t wait to go back soon!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, staying in front might bother you as traffic passes, but i am a relative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrariddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

I rang on the off chance that they might have a single room available on the day of my stay and they did, the manager was very helpful upon my arrival and the room rate was very reasonable. The room was clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facility (inc. biscuits) with clean bedding, hotel information etc. with TV and en-suite. The breakfast was amazing and very satisfying. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Parking is available outside the hotel between the hours of 6pm and 8am then it becomes an express...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danwillashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

The beachcomber in Swansea had top service. The roomshad all you need. good breakfast. I want to thank the owner Richard Baber, a gentlemans gentleman. Always asking if you were ok, and if there were anything we needed. just a few minutes walk from centre of city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norvege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed here again on 3rd Dec in a family room this time. Again a little bit on the small side but still enough room to house our suitcases and enough room to happily get ready for our night out.
Personally i dont care if the room is a little bit on the small side, or if the decor isnt the most modern, the most important thing to me is that i have a clean room to stay in and this by far is one of the cleanest and most tidy B&B iv stayed in on Oystermouth Road.
Could not find any faults with the cleanliness of this room.
Will defo be staying here on my next trip to Swansea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarahJJJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was my first holiday in 11 years, and my first trip to south wales. After a four hour coach journey I followed Richard's instructions of how to find the guest house, its approximately a 10 minute walk from the bus station (alternatively catch the 4 metrobus the stop you need is the slip). Once I arrived I was shown to my room. It was lovely, clean and very well presented. Inside the room were two guides focussing on swansea's history, attractions and points of interest. A kettle, mug and tea making facillitys are in each room. The bed was very comfortable and the noise from the road was incredibly minimal. The room was cleaned every day, bins emptied and beds remade.
The proprietors Richard and Debbie were incredibly welcoming and full of interesting ideas of things to see and do during both of my trips. As a single traveler I would recommend them to anyone!

One of the best points about this guest house was their attitude towards your stay. Treat it as your own home, nice to find a place that understands not everyone is in bed at 9pm! The other is the Baber family themselves, they help everyone as much as they can and obviously love what they do.

Can't wait for my next trip!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kat_Wilson1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel was quite small but very clean and nothing was too much trouble for Richard and Debbie. We had a three night stay and had hired some bikes which we were able to keep safe inside the hotel. Breakfast was fine. We needed gluten free bread which was available and as said before nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We enjoyed our 2 night stay, very warm and friendly reception by Richard and wife, neat rooms, very convenient location, good and filling breakfast. However, I wasnt very pleased with the sanitary conditions, because our room wasn't cleaned for the 2 days and trash wasn't taken out.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
3.5 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
The White House
The White House
#17 of 22 in Swansea
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
143 reviews
9.7 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,032 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber

Address: 364 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: $78 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run; friendly guesthouse, located on the seafront of stunning Swansea Bay. A short walk into town, university, Grand Theatre, LC2 and Brangwyn Hall. Lots of local restaurants and pubs, plenty more plus night life in town. A short drive from the Mumbles and the wonderful Gower beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Swansea
Beachcomber Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing