We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcomber
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
kr.sand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

The beachcomber in Swansea had top service. The roomshad all you need. good breakfast. I want to thank the owner Richard Baber, a gentlemans gentleman. Always asking if you were ok, and if there were anything we needed. just a few minutes walk from centre of city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norvege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
26
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed here again on 3rd Dec in a family room this time. Again a little bit on the small side but still enough room to house our suitcases and enough room to happily get ready for our night out.
Personally i dont care if the room is a little bit on the small side, or if the decor isnt the most modern, the most important thing to me is that i have a clean room to stay in and this by far is one of the cleanest and most tidy B&B iv stayed in on Oystermouth Road.
Could not find any faults with the cleanliness of this room.
Will defo be staying here on my next trip to Swansea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahJJJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was my first holiday in 11 years, and my first trip to south wales. After a four hour coach journey I followed Richard's instructions of how to find the guest house, its approximately a 10 minute walk from the bus station (alternatively catch the 4 metrobus the stop you need is the slip). Once I arrived I was shown to my room. It was lovely, clean and very well presented. Inside the room were two guides focussing on swansea's history, attractions and points of interest. A kettle, mug and tea making facillitys are in each room. The bed was very comfortable and the noise from the road was incredibly minimal. The room was cleaned every day, bins emptied and beds remade.
The proprietors Richard and Debbie were incredibly welcoming and full of interesting ideas of things to see and do during both of my trips. As a single traveler I would recommend them to anyone!

One of the best points about this guest house was their attitude towards your stay. Treat it as your own home, nice to find a place that understands not everyone is in bed at 9pm! The other is the Baber family themselves, they help everyone as much as they can and obviously love what they do.

Can't wait for my next trip!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kat_Wilson1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel was quite small but very clean and nothing was too much trouble for Richard and Debbie. We had a three night stay and had hired some bikes which we were able to keep safe inside the hotel. Breakfast was fine. We needed gluten free bread which was available and as said before nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We enjoyed our 2 night stay, very warm and friendly reception by Richard and wife, neat rooms, very convenient location, good and filling breakfast. However, I wasnt very pleased with the sanitary conditions, because our room wasn't cleaned for the 2 days and trash wasn't taken out.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Three of us really enjoyed our stay at the Beachcomber and we were made to feel very welcome instantly. We were allowed to leave our bags at the hotel in the morning before setting off to see the Mumbles. We checked into the hotel later in the evening. It's true that the owners wanted to be paid up front, but this is common practice at the seafront hotels in Swansea as over the years many people have left guest houses and hotels by morning without paying. This is the price honest people pay for the actions of the very few, so don't blame the owners of hotels for wanting to be paid beforehand. It's nothing personal but strictly business sense.

The rooms were very comfortable and what was expected. It was a very warm evening so sleeping was difficult and traffic noise didn't help. Once again though, this is no fault of the owners of any of Swansea's seafront hotels. Only way to stop this is by making Oystermouth Road a no-go area for traffic between 11pm-6am, but that as we all know is impossible.

Instead of heading into the city in the evening for a meal we decided to have a Chinese takeaway three doors down the road and the owner was more than welcome for us to bring back the meals to eat it at their dining room. As long as you don't eat it in the bedrooms then guest houses and hotels such as these provide excellent service at such times. Plates, cutlery and glasses were provided by the owner and it felt like we had gone out to a restaurant after all.

The breakfast was lovely the next morning and the owner had a lovely little chat with us before we headed home. He really was very welcoming and there's no doubt that we will stay at the Beachcomber again in the future and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Swansea.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJones45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed here a few months ago when going on a night out in Swansea, have since stayed at a few more B&Bs on the same road and must admit this is the best by far.
Owners lovely and friendly, rooms are clean, abit on the small side but they do the job.
do not have to worry about coming in late as you get your own key to the front door.
Beach less than 200 yards away, about 10 mins walk to the bus station and the shops.
Cost about £4 to get to the main street in a taxi.
Will definatly be staying here again next time im going for a night out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJJJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.6 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White House
The White House
#14 of 24 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hurst Dene Hotel
Hurst Dene Hotel
#19 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber

Property: Beachcomber
Address: 364 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Swansea
Beachcomber Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing