We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillend campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillend campsite
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a fantastic campsite, toilets are always clean and the showers are always hot. Everything is there for our family, beach, sea, waves and dunes and a park for the monsters. I can't complain about the staff they were nice friendly and helpful to us each time we've been. Our boys recommend a Milkshake from Eddies cafe. Overall for us its a perfect site!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    58
    14
    11
    27
See reviews for
63
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on the Saturday afternoon and the camp was full we explained we wanted to stay for 3 nights and they fitted us in . The camp site and facilities were very clean and well looked after . The beach is breathtaking.
The little shop is well stocked but because its on site quite overpriced . The restaurant is very hit and miss also expensive . But if you take all you need you'll have an amazing time .
We're going back next month

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank clare484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

I'm relatively new to camping, and this campsite was a perfect introduction. Great location - walk through the dunes for a couple of minutes and you're on the very long and beautiful Llangennith beach.
Facilities (toilets and showers) were clean and plentiful, the site was nice and quiet at night (families with kids were on separate fields at the far end of the campsite and there were no rowdy drunks anywhere) and we didn't experience any of the strict telling offs that a lot of reviewers mentioned, the staff were extremely friendly. Despite what their website says, you can bring your own barbecue and cook away.
There is a simple, friendly shop on site and Eddy's restaurant was surprisingly good, with an interesting varied menu, lovely breakfasts (big portions!), good hot drinks and lots of milkshakes and ice cream flavours which the kids will love.
You can charge your phone for as long as you like at reception for a £1 donation to the local Lifeboats.
Overall, well worth paying a bit extra per night / tent for the extra comforts.
The Kings Head pub which is less than a mile away is great for evening drinks outside and decent meals after a gruelling day at the beach.
Will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Avoid arriving during the weekends, Sunday afternoons/ Monday mornings are best to find a good spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetTheSunShineAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

So firstly understand that I am really NOT into camping so was somewhat filled with trepidation at staying here - however as usual trip advisor came in handy in our selection. What a fantastic location - spacious fields (we stayed in one of the family fields) an easy walk to the huge beach, really peaceful at night, clean facilities, and very friendly staff. We had a lovely welcome when we arrived and although the cafe was closed that evening (burst water pipe i think) the man recommended nearby places to eat. I have nothing bad to say about this place and just wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cariadwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have visited this campsite many times over the last 40 years, it has grown in both size and facilities from the days when it was pitch up under the dunes and fight for the loo.
It is expensive and there is no doubt that the staff can be intimidating and heavy handed, although we have only had personal experience of this a couple of times
Otherwise the toilets are plentiful and clean, showers plentiful, clean and hot. There is a shop that sells all sorts of things and a fab cafe that provides a wet, soggy, tired camper with a huge, delicious breakfast indoors, in record time - it can get a bit bleak if the weather is bad.
There is plenty of space but it will get full and you will get turned away if you arrive late on a Friday night on.particularly busy weekend.
The beach is a short walk away and if it is busy and you want some peace and quiet, just a short walk and you will find yourself almost alone to fly your kite or sunbathe. We are not surfer, nor strong swimmers, we love to just play in the waves and mess around. A word or warning - the rip tide can be very scary, so take care if you are not a strong swimmer or have youngish children with you, who can swim out a bit and then struggle to make their way back in.
Blissful long walks to Rhossili over the hill or along the beach, for a beer and lunch and then on to Worms Head and back or go north to the dunes and find Bluepool Beach for a splash around and a picnic.
The area is heaven and the campsite caters for visiting campers perfectly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightingale1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This campsite is well maintained and spans 4 fields, 2 for families and 2 for couples. It's just a short walk to rhossili bay and the view is amazing. There is an on site shop and diner both of which close at 4 pm. I've camped at cheaper sites but the price is worth it for location, cleanliness of toilet and shower blocks and facilities. We will definitely return!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Love this plce and keep coming back.

So much space you'll be hard pressed to see it booked out- even on the bank hols!

Good facilities - hot showers, clean toilets, shop, cafe.

Location is awesome. Right behind the dune of a 3 mile stretch of white sand. The surf is consistently there but never amazing. You can always find a wave if you're willing to work hard enough to get out back. I prefer to take the nice walk along the beach and paddle out at Rhossili where you get the protection of the headland. But this is def the place to stay. Just a short stroll away is a nice oub that does delicious meals from locally sourced produce. I highly recommend it.

I'll definitely be back - even if you are welcomed by a grouch!

Room Tip: Get in early to get either a spot near the amenities or to be by the dune and sleep to the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
4.2 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
4.9 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.9 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#1 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western House B&B
Western House B&B
#2 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillend campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillend campsite

Property: Hillend campsite
Address: Rhossili Bay | Llangennith, Swansea, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillend campsite 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Hillend Campsite Hotel Swansea
Hillend Campsite Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing