We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value and convenience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurst Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hurst Dene Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Value and convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed in a self catering studio which was bright, clean, and airy. The shower room while small had everything that was needed and main room was a very good size with a kitchen area containing cupboards, cooker, microwave, fridge and everything necessary. In the main area a sofa, tables, TV, and table and chairs in the bay window. Along one wall was a large wardrobe unit part of which pulled down to become a bed. Having slept on sofa or occasional beds before I had no great hopes but it was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, other than my own (I am prone to a bad back so was very relieved). There is parking at the back and at £40 a night for a solo traveller excellent value. There is just one point, there is no bedside light. Now I know that with a fold down bed it would be difficult, but it would not be impossible,and it would change the rating from very good to excellent. Either way it is still value for money.

Room Tip: Check that there is a bedside light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francis161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
17
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

just stayed in a self catering studio and couldn't have asked for better - really great value - looked like everything was brand new and it was spotless - may be a little further out from the centre than where we usually stay but some lovely pubs within walking distance which made a change and less than a fiver to get a taxi into the city centre - we will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

this was certainly not what i expected....for self catering you get you own lounge area,bedroom,bathroom kitchen (everything you need to cook...pots,pans,dishes,bowls,cups,utensils...wow) and all at a very reasonable rate....extremely highly recommend....A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank futzky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

An unexpected journey lead us to swansea with no place to stay. Another hotel recommended Hurst Dene and we're really pleased with the room. Surprised how well equipped the kitchen is. An oven, hob, fridge, glasses, mugs, plates, egg cups, cutlery, kettle, microwave, toaster, saucepans and iron, flat screen tv. everything you'd need for a few nights or a week!
We've thoroughly enjoyed it and fantastic value for money. I will strongly recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky1497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

We've used this hotel 3 times and thought it was great value for money, ideal situation to work, the rooms were nice and clean (a little small and the walls were a little thin as other guests could be heard in the corridor), flat screen tv's and suitable en-suite bathrooms and a great breakfast to see you on your way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

We looked for a place to stay in Swansea, and saw the previous review. We decided to stay for 3 nights, but have extended to 12 nights because it is an amazing place to stay.

We have a self catering apartment, which has a lovely lounge with spectacular views over Swansea Bay, a good size double bedroom and a kitchen/dinner with a full size oven and hob.

20 mins walk into the city centre, or less than 5 mins walk to the buses.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boysbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

I booked a twin room at the Hurst Dene for myself and a friend as we were in Swansea for one night to attend a party. When we arrived, we found that we'd actually been allocated one of their self-catering apartments - which would probably been really handy if we'd been staying longer.

The apartment was cheaply furnished (but at £58 a room, what more could you expect?!). There was a small double bedroom, a shower room and a kitchen/living area. The kitchen was well-equipped, with a fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave and full-size oven and hob. One thing I noticed as I was drifting off to sleep was that the bedclothes smelled incredibly fresh and clean - the whole apartment was in fact, spotlessly clean.

The staff were friendly and we were congratulated by a gentleman (who I assumed to be the owner) for making it down to breakfast after such a late night - I thought it was nice that he remembered us as it's a pretty big place.

I can't comment too much on the suitability of the location for those wanting to visit the city centre as we stayed in the suburbs but there was a wide selection of shops, restaurants and a cash point within easy walking distance.

Breakfast was fine - full English (or variations of) plus plenty of toast, a good variety of cereals, grapefruit and prunes.

One thing I would say is that, based on our experience, the rooms look nothing like those advertised (I have included my own pics)

Helpful?
4 Thank saffstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#11 of 24 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
1.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The White House
The White House
#14 of 24 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurst Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurst Dene Hotel

Property: Hurst Dene Hotel
Address: 10 Sketty Road, Swansea SA2 0LJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hurst Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Hurst Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurst Dene Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing