We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great value, more attention needed on room cleaning......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Overall great value, more attention needed on room cleaning......”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

First impressions of the hotel were very positive, a warm welcome, pleasant reception area and smooth check-in.
Ditto for the room, great sea view! Comfortable bed, bathroom all functioning well and overall I was really pleased. However, this was then sadly overshadowed by a massive dark black hair on the white plastic seat. Maybe its me, but there's something about finding a strangers hair like that and it sort of soured my opinion on the hygiene. I also found a small piece of plastic wrapping (don't know what from) on the bathroom floor.
I would have given four or five had I had a totally cleaned room, shame.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heisenberg_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback djdameswales_UK. We are pleased to learn that you received great service from our staff and found our beds to be comfortable however it is regrettable that you felt the cleanliness of the room fell below our usual high standards. Our housekeeping team follow a specific routine when servicing our rooms so we’d like to apologise for the oversight on this occasion. We’ll ensure our hotel management team are made aware of your feedback so our staff can be reminded of the importance of customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    93
    44
    18
    25
See reviews for
65
70
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights midweek. Room was basic, no frills but clean and comfortable. To our surprise the Hotel had a restaurant and bar, the food was very good, no complaints. The breakfast was a full breakfast and all you could eat if you felt like it. We had a room at the back of the hotel which looked out onto the rear of the Quadrant shopping Centre which basically meant early morning (5am) lorry deliveries to the stores so there was a degree of noise, and when everything is quiet, the noise form deliveries is amplified somewhat. We had a few other glitches, the TV remote would only work a few inches from the TV, the keycard didn't work on the second day and the room wouldn't lock on one occasion.......but these were sorted out OK.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front may be quieter but the hotel is very close to the Swansea weekend clubbing zone
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pehu44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

For the price a good hotel, however dirty pillow covers, very poor check in and room not cleaned for second night. Noises from outside and inside people shouting out sssshhh when the come in as per any normal city centre hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We’re really sorry to learn of the issue you have raised Mark S. Our housekeeping team follow a regular routine when servicing our rooms and it is regrettable that there was a lapse in service on this occasion. We’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to our hotel management team so this can be addressed and our staff can also be reminded of the importance of providing a great service to our guests. It’s also regrettable you were disturbed by other customers, and by external noises. We do try to reduce noise in our hotels by having insulated walls and double glazing however due to the central location of the hotel we cannot completely prevent external noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Everything was fine with this hotel, friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed and, for a nice change, there were thick, large towels. But the noise! Because the room was stuffy we needed the window open. I had no idea that Swansea was such a den of iniquity: noisy, obviously drunk, groups of people passing by all night. Just luck, I suppose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janw121314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We came to Swansea to watch a concert and booked this hotel for the reasonable rate that we paid. What a good choice. Excellent location. Friendly reception. We had a few drinks in town after the concert but came back earlier than what we usually do due to the fact there was students swarming everywhere dressed up for Halloween. That was good entertainment for us for a bit! We went back and had a drink in the hotel bar, what a lovely guy on reception who told us its student night every Wednesday. Oh well they were no problem just having a good time.

Extremely comfortable beds and I slept reasonably well apart from the noise coming from town. This stopped dead at about 2am. Put this aside I would definitely stay here again (but not on students night, lol ). Also if you use the N P C multi storey car park overnight you have discount just ask reception to stamp your ticket. It all helps

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeyjoe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is very well located and easy to find. The facilities are fine, and the staff offer a good welcome. Even though the hotel is in a busy leisure area, there was very little noise at night, which was very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel was excellent in every respect, but the evaluation survey is too detailed. The hotel was spotless, the view was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. This is easily the best hotel I have stayed in.



  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.2 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#10 of 22 in Swansea
933 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#5 of 22 in Swansea
761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#9 of 22 in Swansea
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel

Property: Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Address: Princess Way, Swansea SA1 3LW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel Wales
Travel Lodge Swansea
Swansea Travel Lodge
Swansea Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing