We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bog Standard!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Swansea
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
South Wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bog Standard!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

ROOM 420 - Really looked forward to our night, but was very disappointed. Room smelled like toilet/sewage. Furniture filthy, make up table, drawers and handles were dirty and sticky! No 'designer' toiletries as specified by website (just a tiny soap). Only a 'sticky' menu for the restaurant, nothing for the pub, nothing for room service. No pricelist etc for the health spa (for massage). Not even information in case of fire! Huge gap under the bathroom door.

I expected more to this hotel. Had much nicer 'cooked' breakfast in other hotels. After having a lovely afternoon/evening in Swansea, we returned to hotel at approx 11.30pm. I asked reception for a menu for room service. I was told this service finishes at 9.30! The website states 24 hour room service. She told us to ring for a takeaway if we were hungry.

All in all, not the best accommodation and I would never rate as 4 star. Been to nicer 3 stars in the area. What a shame.

On a good note, the SA1 area is still under construction, but is going to be gorgeous when finished. Just a few minutes walk from here is a gorgeous restaurant La Parilla, a Thai restaurant and a beautiful art gallery/wine bar called Ice House. Lovely seating outside. From there, you can walk over the bridge and will arrive at the bottom of Wine Street, for more bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveatrip7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    476
    287
    96
    56
See reviews for
233
589
51
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

I made my way to The Village with some trepidation as the organiser of a long weekend for a group of twenty guys and having just read the last few reviews here but I shouldn't have worried. Everyone thought it was great and perfect for our requirements as a base for a golfing trip.

It is clean and comfortable and the breakfast is very good. True there is building work in the vicinity but that's only an issue if you are going for the views from the room otherwise it is of no consequence.

It is a fifteen minute walk from the city centre but if that's a problem the hotel will arrange a very reasonably priced taxi ( 7 seater @ 50p each!! ).

I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slight-Fade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

Staff very friendly and easy check-in procedure.

Room basic - hence the title of this review.
Our room had a large gap at the bottom of the bathroom door.

Website does not inform you that there are restrictions on times when children can use the pool facilities which was very disappointing as this was the main reason we stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eater123England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

Close to Swansea town centre, this hotel has everything you could wish for. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean with tea/coffee making facilities. A coffee shop on the ground floor, a restaurant and a bar that also serves excellent food. A pool with Sauna , Turkish steam room and a jacuzzi and a decent sized gym and fitness room, should you want to join in with a class. You may need to make use of these facilities after sampling one of their breakfasts! Great selection and as much as you want.
Everyone was most helpful and whenever we visit family in the area, this is the place we always stay. Give them your e-mail address and they will let you know of some amazing offers they do throughout the year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

I booked a twin room on the 18th April for myself and a colleague. We arrived and the entire area remains a building site! The views of the harbour are simply of a giant pile of dirt obscuring the harbour and perhaps in years to come it will be lovely but right now... Not so much!!

At check in a casual greeting followed by us being informed that the dinner bed and breakfast option we had been given was not possible in the restuarant and the pub was the only thing open that night for food. We declined this option as pubs at the best of times tend to be noisey and loud and we were needing to prep for a very important business meeting in the morning. Having phoned theday of booking the room I was not informed of this and would have arranged other accomodation had I been informed.

We then went to the first room we were given to find tooth paste splattered all over the bathroom floor under the basin. I didn't even look around the room further and picked up my bags and vacated this room as my thoughts were that if the room was obviously dirty with something like that I could only imagine what the rest was like which might not have been so obvious!!!

We then asked for a new room and were moved to a "Disabled" room 210. I attach the photos of the broken phone - with the ear hair and ear wax in the well of the head set - the pillow that was on the bed - with fresh bodily fluids attach oh the delight! - and finally the LOVELY ring of black mould around the drainage on the SINK! Lovely when you need to shave in the morning water mixed with black mould YUMMY!

I asked for another room and was informed they would rectify the problem in our current room and there was no need to move. Upon returning that night at past 11pm, I was informed by the receptionist that the duty manager who was in fact also the GENERAL MANAGER - Matt McCormick - had PERSONALLY checked the room and found these issues to not be problems and I quote the manager's message through the receptionist that "we were being difficult"... I then explained to the receptionist that at £99 a night I wanted a clean room and they got it wrong the first time with room 317 and the second time with room 210 and now the general manager was saying the filth and squalor of room 210 was acceptable and I - as the paying guest - did not find it acceptable and asked to be moved. We were moved to the last room available and this room 305 was the cherry on the cake!!

The twin beds were pushed together when we walked into the room so I moved the beds apart to seperate them, only to find a COCKROACH TRAP UNDER THE BED which was FILLED WITH COCKROACHES (one of which was still moving I might add!!!!) and even a stray tablet of some kind inside the trap amongst the COCKROACHES! Also under the bed was a collection of delights included broken ciagerettes, chocolate wrappers, used condom wrappers and various other dirt and papers etc. SO MUCH FOR FOUR STAR ACCOMODATION!!!!

The black mould appeared again THROUGHOUT the bathroom - see photos for room 305 - and the final straw was the fact in the middle of the night I felt something in my bed and turned on the light to find three cockroaches were on my colleagues pillow and two were in my bed!!! Obviously after that no rest was had as I am phobic about cockroaches and she was beyond hysterical given these disgusting COCKROACHES were on her pillow and in her hair etc... At 2am I was not going to find another room as when reporting cockroaches were in my room earlier to the night reception clerk I was advised that they were aware of the problem and were not able to do anything about it... SHOCKING that a pest infested room was in fact rented to a member of the public AND THAT THEY TOOK MY MONEY FOR THE ROOM AFTER THIS!!!!

Upon complaining at 10am the next morning, I was informed by the Duty Manager I had to stand around waiting for for twenty minutes that there was CLEARLY an issue with room 305 and I pointed out that the General manager of the hotel had thought there was NO issue with the rooms as he had personally checked them! I advised the duty manager that someone needed more training either he or the house keeping or the general manager as clearly this was not acceptable. I was then promptly charged the full amount and not offered any form of expliantion or compensation OR EVEN AN APOLOGY!!!!

Personally I think that manager needs to have his health and safety training again and to actually perhaps learn how it is someone is meant to deal with customers and provide a clean safe and healthy environment in a three star hotel for the paying public!!!! I was HORRIFIED at how poorly he - the manager - treated me and the staff could not have cared less about my issues of cleanliness and not once did anyone say that they were sorry for the trouble this had caused. It seemed that as long as you had given them your credit card upon arrival that you could then just go away and accept what they gave you and simply shut up and be grateful for the unsafe unhealthy squalor you have to pay to "enjoy". Oh and they charged me the full rate anyway despite all of the horrendous issues!!

YOUR HOUSEKEEPING team all need to be sacked or in fact actually trained to clean!!! WHAT ON EARTH is going on there!!!

I have alo forwarded this email to the various toursim boards as they have a lot t oanswer for your being able to purport to be a four star hotel! I think a DRASTIC investigation needs to be undertaken by them into the manner in which you have and continue to run your hotel as clearly your methods of running the hotel are CLEARLY reflected on http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186466-d630059-Reviews-Village_Swansea-Swansea_Southern_Wales_Wales.html as once your hotel was number on in Swansea and now it is number 12 out of 35 hotels ranking BEHIND the SHore line hotel which is charging out at £70 a night per room and they CERTAINLY have not invested the VAST amount of money in establishing their hotel as you have!!!! Your investors in this hotel MUST BE HORRIFIED as what is going on over there and I hope that they actually hear of this complaint so they can try and restore this hotel to what it was intended to be!! (Obviously that ranking is prior to my posting a review on this site so your position might have slipped even more!!!

In addition to copying this email to the tourism boards I have had no choice but to also forward this to the Swansea Town Council Health and Safety boards as the mould issues this hotel has, together with the DISGUSTING pest control issues they have in certain rooms, are entirely unacceptable and I am not even certain of the legalities of renting out rooms in this state to the general public. I have also asked the Council to send a health inspector to this establishment to establish how it is we were put in a pest infested room as your management refused to comment on that point to me. Your hotel did nothing to rectify the situation even when the matter was raised with your reception within minutes/hours of this happening and all they did in fact do was charge me the full room rate and I was beyond horrified by the enter experience!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

Well, this is the first time I've felt the need to write a review- although I use Tripadvisor all the time. I need to stay in Swansea ocassionally to visit family and had recently had the "pleasure" of staying at the IBIS, which is possibly the closest you can get to GDR authenticity in the UK- I thought it couldn't get much worse-until we stayed at the Village.

Anyone booking this hotel needs to be aware it is on an industrial estate, so a car is essential. I knew the location, whch wasn't an issue for me. We checked in- well, attempted to. At three PM [the hour you are supposed to check in from] we were told there were only disabled rooms available [which have a walk-in adapted shower with seat, no bath and extra-low sinks] as not all the rooms had been cleaned. Given that we were in no hurry, we asked if we could be allocated another room once available, and return to the hotel later that evening, which was agreed. When we came back at six, we were given another room. This had a piece of black felt up at the window, secured by two elastic bands, instead of a curtain. Reception didn't apologise for this- they just said "Oh". The next room [the only other one available] hadn't been cleaned properly and someone had left a welcome present in the toilet. Reception again didn't apologise, just seemed vacant.

This hotel has aspirations to be a stylish, boutique-type trendy place to stay in Swansea. In reality, it is cheaply furnished, poorly cleaned and lacking in good service. Only stay if you get a supremely good rate- or they pay you!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barrymanilowUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Poor service, too many other people milling about trying to get served. A fake pub and a building that looks like it will last for a only a decade but stay there much longer. I don't want to hear the aerobics class music and trainer whilst I am in my room at 7pm or 7am. It makes you want to get out and go for a walk but then you end up in a building site.

Wake up to a grim, mean breakfast and a mug on the table with the spoon stuck in it. Stir and plonk on the table; it summed up the place's whole approach

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nochoicework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.0 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#12 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swansea

Property: Village Hotel Swansea
Address: (Off Fabian Way Langdon Road | SA1 Waterfront, Swansea SA1 8QY, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Swansea)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Swansea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swansea offers the perfect combination of breathtaking views and vibrant city life. Swansea is nestled between Cardiff and the more tranquil areas of the West Wales coast. It is also within easy reach of the Brecon Beacons National Park, St David's and Tenby. Another great day trip is to be had enjoying the scenic views and beaches of the spectacular Gower Peninsula. Village Hotel Swansea has 114 air-conditioned bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Village Hotel Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Swansea Hotel Swansea
Swansea Village Hotel
Village Hotel Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing