We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mishap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Swansea
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

After a long journey from guernsey to swansea to surprise my sister who is at uni, all we wanted to do is get checked and go for some dinner. Unfortunately my mum had a lot to plan for and got the dates mixed up by a day. The staff were amazing, unfortunately their hotel was completely full so the manageress rang round to other hotels in the area and found us a room at such late notice they even covered the stay and changed the booking, they went above and beyond to help us silly guerns. We did one night at the grand hotel and the other night in the Village. Overall the village is a fabulous hotel with great facilities and staff, who are pleasant, polite, incredibly helpful. Its in a great location, the hotel has a great vibe and it was clean. I would definitely stay again and would like to thank the lady behind the desk for her help !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily H, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Sophie G

Thank you for your feedback, it is very pleasing to hear that despite our hotel being full our staff went the extra mile to arranging accomodation for you.

I hope we may welcome you to the Village Swansea again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

had food at the village hotel with my husband and also drinks in the bar the waitress in the restaurant was great and very helpful her name was lucy she had great red hair what a lovely pleasant girl will definately go back hopefully she will be our waitress again she made us laught but was very professional food was good and not too pricey. The bar was very welcoming and we met some nice people there the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank tinamulready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily H, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear tinamulready

thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am pleased that you had a great stay and the team made a positive impact with you. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We loved the furniture in the lobby, gorgeous interior. The hotel was clean, the food was delicious and the service fantastic. The beds were very comfortable. We had a lovely stay and would definitely visit again! Xxxxxxxxxxx thank you

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily H, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Ginny T

Thank you for visiting Village Urban Resort in Swansea, I am so pleased that you had a fantastic experience. I hope we may welcome yo back very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We first visited here about five years ago and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves,this visit was flying as we were on our way to Pembokeshire and decided to break our journey.on our previous visit we had a few niggles about the resteraunt,bad service and boring food,not so this time! They have updated their menu and the service was impeccable. Our room,as before was spacious,very clean and well designed,being disabled I need space and we had it in abundance! We shall certainly,return for a longer stay sometime soon.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road,so rooms at the back tend to be quieter,also if you want to eat in book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily H, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear ChristineHubbard

Thank you for your kind comments, and I am so pleased you enjoyed the new menu.
Please do come and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just experienced Sunday lunch at the Village. The food was dreadful! The meat was tough, vegetables soggy, gravy lumpy etc etc.

The service was just as bad with the waitress clearing plates from the table whilst people were still eating.

Cost £12.95 per person, so although inexpensive, to be avoided. Just hope that I am not sick later........would not be surprised.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alysonpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily H, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Alysonpet

Thank you for your comments about your recent experience, I am very sorry that on this occasion your experience was not up to our usually high standards.

I would like to assure you that service and standards are extremely important to us at Village Swansea. If you would like to discuss this any further please do not hesitate to contact me on
simon.barratt@village-hotels.com

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I only tend to write a review if a hotel is either amazing or very poor.

Neither of these apply to the Village, which I guess most savy tripadisor users will know has a great leisure centre and well equipped rooms but which are almost past their refurb date.

However, the reception staff when I checked in without a reservation at 11pm (having finally decided not to make my return drive to London so late) and the the staff on the following morning when Hannah hand drew a great map for my walking tour of Swansea Marina were all really excellent. Polite and helpful in the evening and a free late check-out due to my late arrival offered in the morning.

A relaxing and good stay after a few days of likewise good accommodation else ware in Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily H, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Martyricky

Thank you for your feedback, it is so pleasing to read that a member of our team went out of their way to make your experience a better one. I will be sure to thank Hannah.

I hope we may welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were hoping to have a relaxing night after being given a voucher for a 1-night stay & breakfast for our 25th wedding anniversary. We didn't realise that there was an event on that evening, (ladies night), with 2 hen parties, or we would have chosen another date. There were party people outside in the car park until until 2 am, this was after we had complained twice to Reception. I even checked that the window was closed as it was a lovely evening outside. We also discussed this with a duty manager in the morning and was advised we would have a call or e-mail from the area manager - which we have not had. The room was ok, selection of food at breakfast was ok, however there were lots of dirty tables, and we we there at 8:15 when the restaurant was open at 8:00am! Overall, ok if you're attending a party, but not for a quiet relaxing evening.

Room Tip: Go Sun - Thurs when there is less chance of noisy parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily H, General Manager at Village Hotel Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Andy858

Thank you for your feedback, I have recently started at the hotel, I am extremely sorry that you were not contacted after being advise you would be.

If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me on simon.barratt@village-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
773 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 22 in Swansea
691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#7 of 22 in Swansea
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swansea

Address: (Off Fabian Way Langdon Road | SA1 Waterfront, Swansea SA1 8QY, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Swansea)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: $60 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Swansea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swansea offers the perfect combination of breathtaking views and vibrant city life. Swansea is nestled between Cardiff and the more tranquil areas of the West Wales coast. It is also within easy reach of the Brecon Beacons National Park, St David's and Tenby. Another great day trip is to be had enjoying the scenic views and beaches of the spectacular Gower Peninsula. Village Hotel Swansea has 114 air-conditioned bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Hotel Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Swansea Hotel Swansea
Swansea Village Hotel
Village Hotel Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing