We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Swansea
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I must admit, this is one of the best village hotels I have stayed at, the pool is spacious, staff courteous and rooms vet modern, we had a free upgrade to the top floor rooms which made our stay even better, Swansea city is only a short walk away.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daviesic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    521
    312
    103
    58
See reviews for
262
657
58
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had high expectations for this suposedly chic hotel, but it was disappointing. First the room. The soap dispenser did not work at the bathroom sink, the bed was not made up properly with sheets not tucked at the head of the bed atall, the remote control was missing the battery cover, but also did not work unless you stand right infront of the t.v. A t.v which despite advertising Sky channels on their website is basically 5 channels (yes only 1 through 5) and Sky sports. No freeview in a hotel today? that is a basic even in a bed and breakfast these days, and the picture quality was fuzzy and poor. The carpet had some questionable stains, as did the walls by the sofa and in the bathroom. The window sills were drenched with puddles of water due to bad ventilation and probably the reason I woke up all stuffy like the begining of a cold. The kettle lid did not close and we were ony provided with 1 full size towel. The rooms are not noise insulated well and we heard every move made by the residents in the room above us, aswell as the toilet flushes from next door. Small things that are not acceptable and really dampened our stay.
The good things. The food for dinner was delicious even if we did have to wait over 20 minutes for our order to be taken. The breakfast was great. Full cooked breakfast and danish pastries! yum! The leisure facilities are very good, the pool, hot tub and sauna, but these are open for use to the public, not only guests.
Overall, I will not be choosing to stay here ever, ever again.

Room Tip: only one very small elevator, so try for a lower floor room or you will be in for quite a long wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
585 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I would certainly recommend this hotel. The rooms are very clean the staff very friendly, the gym is excellent as with the pool. The food in the Verve is of excellent quality and the breakfast is excellent, fresh fruit and fresh cooked eggs should you so desire. The Gowewr is a wondeful place to explore and this hotel would make an excellent location to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobsterWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A fine example of how poor management and lack of staff training can turn a potentially good hotel into a disappointing experience. Being new is about all it has going. Management failings mean that the restaurant and front desk staff are pleasant but slow, inefficient & poorly trained. Expect long waits, un-cleared tables, unavailable menu items & un-refreshed self-service options at breakfast. Don’t expect your room key card to work more than once. It’s a 5 story hotel but only has one lift which broke down during our stay. Check out was a joke. It took half an hour and 3 staff to sort out the overcharging on the bill.

Room Tip: Some noise at front of hotel late evening. If on the higher floors be prepared to have to use the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The village is Good hotel. We ate in the restaurant using the all inc dinner, bed and breakfast. The food was great value, I had the prawn cocktail, the ribs and the creme brûlée. Great. The pool and gym are also really good. Hotel Staff I must admit are, on occasion a bit questionable when it comes to manners. I will however be sure to stay at this hotel again. Well done village.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollandx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Have stayed on business several times now and each time has been good, the staff are friendly and the food good, the single beds are a bit hard if you get a twin room. Sometimes there is a wait in the evening for a table but if you book its not an issue

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on their week-end break which included Dinner on the first night.
As we knew it would be late when we arrived on our first evening I called the Hotel to see if we could change Dinner to our second evening and they were more than happy to oblige.
The meal was served as a set menu, but with a reasonable choice of food.
Breakfast provided everything you could want and was replenished throughout service - previous comments must have caught them on a bad day!
The rooms are spotlessly clean & serviced to a high standard.
The hotel is very well placed within walking distance of the town centre, eliminating astronomical town centre car parking charges.
The leisure facilities are availbable to use during your stay.
All in all a good break in a reasonable standard of hotel for the money paid compared to some of the other chains available in the town

Room Tip: Rooms facing car park quieter than main road facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulsuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
1.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swansea

Property: Village Hotel Swansea
Address: (Off Fabian Way Langdon Road | SA1 Waterfront, Swansea SA1 8QY, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Swansea)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Swansea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swansea offers the perfect combination of breathtaking views and vibrant city life. Swansea is nestled between Cardiff and the more tranquil areas of the West Wales coast. It is also within easy reach of the Brecon Beacons National Park, St David's and Tenby. Another great day trip is to be had enjoying the scenic views and beaches of the spectacular Gower Peninsula. Village Hotel Swansea has 114 air-conditioned bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Hotel Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Swansea Hotel Swansea
Swansea Village Hotel
Village Hotel Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing