We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My all time favourite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyster Hotel

Oyster Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oyster Hotel
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My all time favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A good place to stay on any occasion .family friendly ,not far from the beach or town and not far from the bus station .owner was very very friendly and was very helpful with my children when the weather was poor allowing them to entertain themselves as they wished . I would highly recommend to anyone wanting a homely environment .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

we love staying at the oyster. Rob makes you feel so welcome,he even let my mother and myself use his kitchen to make dinner one evening when she couldnt get into town due to arthritis giving her pain. Rooms are clean with tv and tea/coffee making facilities . not all rooms are en suit but bathrooms on each floor are clean and plenty of hot water. i cant imagine staying any where else when in this part of the world. It feels like going to stay with an old friend now when we go there.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of building have no out look. Rooms at front over look the beach. the main road it sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for the last 5yrs off and on,from anything from hen wkends to just a romantic trip away,,and i would not stay anywhere else,,it is home from home and rob makes u feel like part of the family,with the sea in front of you and the nitelife 10 mins away,who could ask for more ..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

A good value money hotel very close to the sea and not so far to the city center.
If you dont like to talk with the people, it is not your place!
Nice people, good breakfast and clean rooms.
Without en-suite bathroom, but clean showe.
Masive TV in the bar-reception.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manudelpeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

You will get a great welcome here and the rooms are okay, mine had a great new TV and carpet. The bathroom was as good as you need with bath and shower.
Above all everything is spotlessly CLEAN.
For £25 per night for an en suite double room for one person this is excellent value for money.
Great location for the city centre, mumbles and the prison

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-MasterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

The hotel is homely and very clean. The owners wife Cynthia is very helpful and the owner Bob is has a great sense of humour, and very helpful. Breakfasts are provided it was a wholesome traditional English fry. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank 13dada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

Hotel is clean, but you need to go out for breakfast, it's so poor there Not worth getting out of bed at 7am for.
Owner can be rude and self centered at times too.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — breakfast and attitude of owner
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wayne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.8 mi away
Hurst Dene Hotel
Hurst Dene Hotel
#19 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White House
The White House
#14 of 24 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#11 of 24 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Hotel

Property: Oyster Hotel
Address: 262 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Oyster Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing