We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my fav place to stay in swansea”
Review of Oyster Hotel

Oyster Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oyster Hotel
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
“my fav place to stay in swansea”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for the last 5yrs off and on,from anything from hen wkends to just a romantic trip away,,and i would not stay anywhere else,,it is home from home and rob makes u feel like part of the family,with the sea in front of you and the nitelife 10 mins away,who could ask for more ..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A good value money hotel very close to the sea and not so far to the city center.
If you dont like to talk with the people, it is not your place!
Nice people, good breakfast and clean rooms.
Without en-suite bathroom, but clean showe.
Masive TV in the bar-reception.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manudelpeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

You will get a great welcome here and the rooms are okay, mine had a great new TV and carpet. The bathroom was as good as you need with bath and shower.
Above all everything is spotlessly CLEAN.
For £25 per night for an en suite double room for one person this is excellent value for money.
Great location for the city centre, mumbles and the prison

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-MasterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

The hotel is homely and very clean. The owners wife Cynthia is very helpful and the owner Bob is has a great sense of humour, and very helpful. Breakfasts are provided it was a wholesome traditional English fry. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank 13dada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

Hotel is clean, but you need to go out for breakfast, it's so poor there Not worth getting out of bed at 7am for.
Owner can be rude and self centered at times too.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — breakfast and attitude of owner
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wayne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in August 2004. We were going to a dance festival at Singleton park. We had a warm welcome from the owner of the hotel (I have forgotten his name), and his wife Cynthia is charming.
The rooms were clean and equipped with tea/coffee making facilities. To be honest, we only needed a place to stash our belongings as we were out all day and most of the night, so we can't comment on the bar/lounge area.
It took about 20 mins to walk to Singleton park from the hotel. The hotel is situated right in front of the beach, on Oystermouth Road. It's lovely in the summer.
We were please with the cleanliness and the friendly owners. Cynthias full english breakfast was lovely. We tried to book a room last year but we were disappointed as they were full. We will try and get in this year.

Helpful?
8 Thank Celticgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.8 mi away
Hurst Dene Hotel
Hurst Dene Hotel
#19 of 22 in Swansea
58 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
168 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#11 of 22 in Swansea
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Hotel

Property: Oyster Hotel
Address: 262 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Oyster Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing