We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good shower- but that's all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leonardos Guest House
Ranked #22 of 40 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The bedroom was very small & cramped and had no view. The shower was brilliant, but the shower room itself smelt very damp & musty, with no shelving for stuff. Breakfast was very mean only one button mushroom & that was quartered. Plus the parking was a pain- single yellow lines outside. Not worried about the traffic noise though. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarnieC063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardosGuestHouse, Owner at Leonardos Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Thanks for your comment which we take very seriously. As a result we are now letting air circulate air for longer in the bathrooms after use, and also add more shelves to make it a little more convenient when needed. We are also going to add on the breakfast portion size to suite bigger appetite. This is in addition to all that is available including cereals toasts, jams, marmalades, yoghurt, fruit juices, fresh fruit and more. Unfortunately there is not a lot we can do to improve the room size or the free car parking (4pm to 8am mon to fri) on our doorstep. There is another area to park at 2 min walk from us although is not free. I am glad that you slept well and you find Leonardos Guest House quiet.
Regards
Leonardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had a great stay at Leonardo's - we were staying as part of a 7 week overseas trip and had 3 nights here. Leonardo himself was very friendly and accommodating and the location was ideal for what we were wanting to do on our weekend (we did have a car so it was easy to get around). Great views of the waterfront!

Be aware that Leonardo's is situated on a main road. It does get busy at peak times and is quite noisy! If you are after peace and quiet then this accommodation may not be for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

First, don't be put off by the somewhat sketchy appearing neighborhood where you find this guest house. The property is a jewel among thorns on busy Oystermouth Road in a block of numerous other guest houses. We and another couple selected Leonardo's at random from Lonely Planet-Wales based pretty much on price. Our colleagues knew the area well having been to Swansea on several previous occasions and knew we would be OK here. Imagine our surprise at the updated rooms and en suite baths. Smallish, but very comfortable. Each of our rooms overlooked the shore with an expansive view to downtown Swansea in one direction and Mumbles Head Light to the other. The road is very busy during the day and fairly noisy with traffic, but that settles down to almost nothing at night. Parking is available on the street in front of the property from 4 PM to 8 AM and there is a free lot one block away for other times. An easy 10 minute walk gets you to Swansea Town Center and all of its attractions. The Dylan Thomas house (newly open to the public) is a 20 minute walk - uphill. Best features are the breakfasts served by Leonardo himself. Full English breakfast or a continental breakfast are included in the room rate. Leonardo is an Italian expat who has operated the property with his Welsh wife for about nine years. Most accommodating indeed. Our room rate equaled 52 British Pounds (about USD85) per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking the Bay of Swansea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesternNYTravelFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Ideally situated for the Ferry and an overnight stop prior to hitting the South Wales coast. The owners are very welcoming and cannot do enough for you. The bedrooms are bijou and immaculatey presented. Loads of hot water and fluffy towels. Excellent breakfasts with a full english and a budget lite bite available. Also serves cockles and lava bread !!.

Location on the coast road with a beach opposite to stretch the legs. Good Thai restaurant on the corner. 5 minutes from the Marriott for budget conscious wedding attendees!!!. Would recommend as a base.

Room Tip: Good value budget base for Swansea and district
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCreery-Morbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I must sing the praises of Leonardos Guest House. The staff are some of the friendliest people you will meet and they will serve you as best they can. The breakfast is good quality especially if you are an espresso drinker. The rooms are clean and tidy with tea and coffee in the rooms and freeview television. The only minor suggestion I would have was in my room (9) the door is a fire door so very heavy, a handle would be useful as it is hard to open using the lock alone from inside, but as i say minor detail! I would strongly recommend anyone visiting the Swansea area to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardosGuestHouse, Owner at Leonardos Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

I am happy to hear that you were happy to stay with us
As a result of your feedback we will install a handle on the door (room 9) to make it more user friendly
Thanks for your constructive criticism; Tina and I would be pleased to welcome you again
Regards
Leonardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Check out the breakfast. Stormbound on a sailing holiday, this provided a great sanctuary for the battered crew. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed at Leonardo's when I attended a conference at Swansea University. The proprietors were very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. The location was very good: a 20 minute walk to downtown or to the University, plus an easy-to-use city bus stops directly across from the hotel. The views towards the front are gorgeous. I chose this B&B over others on the Oystermouth Road because it was the least expensive. I was not surprised, then, that the hotel looks a little worn around the edges. However everything was very clean and comfortable.

A word of warning about two things:
*For those with mobility issues: as it is a small B&B there is no lift, and since all the guest rooms are on upper floors negotiating stairs is a must.
*For tall people: don't stay in room #10! It is a garret-type room at the very top of the hotel. It served my needs well despite its tiny size, since I was traveling alone and am a petite 5'4" woman. Yet there was a beam running through the ceiling that I cleared only by an inch or so. If you're taller than I am you'll run into it constantly! (When I booked the owners warned me about this.) Also, the wi-fi can be patchy in this room.

Room Tip: request a room at the front for views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divachen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
2.0 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
820 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#8 of 22 in Swansea
241 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The White House
The White House
#17 of 22 in Swansea
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardos Guest House

Address: 380 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range: $56 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardos Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leonardo’s is a family-run guest house which offers a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation. Boasting an idyllic setting at the edge of both the Gower peninsula Swansea City Centre and just off the M4. Our guest house is a perfect location for easy access to the city centre, Swansea University and surrounding areas. We are positioned facing almost due south, along the shore of Swansea’s five miles beach, which stretches to the picturesque Mumbles and its Light House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Leonardos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardos Guest House Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing