We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Buildings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Waterfront Museum

National Waterfront Museum
Ranked #13 of 119 things to do in Swansea
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
732 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Great Buildings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

A first visit to this waterfront museum and was duly inpressed by its location and design. Great building - good use of old and new. Great open spaces light and airy. However as good as the structure is what is contained within is fairly poor. Swansea a city where coal, copper, steel, transport and shipping were / are important there are hardly any "large" exhibits? Why?
Very little large content 1 railway wagon and 1 plane. In its favour there are loads of small exhibits with loads of explanation but little wow factor. An excellent bite to eat and drink and great staff throughout.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    109
    59
    30
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehouse
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not inspired”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just wasted 40 minutes of my life visiting this museum. Lacks inspiration and journey. If all museums evolve into some kind of zones set up, with poor lighting and non receive video screens, we are doomed. I suppose if I was some geek, the toys would had meant something.

Think about taking me on a journey. From the mine, coal and gold, to smelting, through manufacture, to export. Instead of a video wall of a landscape, providing nothing more than an interactive map on the Internet can.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JacqueHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A modern day museum for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

As you walk through the doors, you are met with several instalations bound to spike the excitement levels (see attached picture).

Growing up in the 90s, I become the generation who witnessed the rebirth of many museums, from analog to digital. I used to hate museum that only offered a beige piece of cardboard with some text and maybe black and white photo. Being dragged around by the teacher or family, trying to force out some excitement for a rock found in the backyard of Charles Dickens assistants third cousin, on the mothers side.

Then all of a sudden technology hit the museums. Now it was cool to go there. It was interactive. You could touch stuff! You've all been there. When a child want to "look at something", he/she will mostly likely touch it and lift it up to "just look at it". Today's museums allows just that, to see with your hands.

National Waterfront is no exception. With interactive touchscreens and loads of film, you are submerges into a world of engineering history and brilliance. This museum is suited for all ages. From the energetic 10-year old to the 80-year old grandpa who just woke from his nap.

And best of all; it's free! So make sure to visit here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom-Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeadofMuseum, General Manager at National Waterfront Museum, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. You have managed to capture perfectly the dynamic nature of the National Waterfront Museum and the exciting way in which its interactive exhibits explain the human history of Welsh industry and innovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Night At The Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Myself, my husband and nephew visited the National Waterfront Museum on Halloween night. I must say it was a brilliant way to spend our evening. For a total cost of £2:00 each, We watched Monsters INC in 3D, there were trails and also workshops for children. We were very impressed. Children had a chance to dress up in their Halloween outfits and everyone seemed to enjoy. We had 1 hour 3/4 of workshops and trails then watched the film. It was very well run by the staff, and they were very helpful and informative.
Will definately return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ceri008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Entertainment on a rainy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Free entry in to this spacious building. Fantastic views, from an out door balcony, of the marina and old ships moored next to the museum. Large car park and easy access. Well worth an hour or two if you are in Swansea.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Waterfront Museum also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to National Waterfront Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing