We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night At The Museum”

National Waterfront Museum
Ranked #15 of 121 things to do in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
UK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Night At The Museum”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Myself, my husband and nephew visited the National Waterfront Museum on Halloween night. I must say it was a brilliant way to spend our evening. For a total cost of £2:00 each, We watched Monsters INC in 3D, there were trails and also workshops for children. We were very impressed. Children had a chance to dress up in their Halloween outfits and everyone seemed to enjoy. We had 1 hour 3/4 of workshops and trails then watched the film. It was very well run by the staff, and they were very helpful and informative.
Will definately return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ceri008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    118
    63
    34
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Entertainment on a rainy day”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Free entry in to this spacious building. Fantastic views, from an out door balcony, of the marina and old ships moored next to the museum. Large car park and easy access. Well worth an hour or two if you are in Swansea.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nice museum covering a couple of floors based in Swansea Marina. Some informative exhibits and great views over the marina itself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“very spacious”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This museum is roomy light and easy to get round. The old photos were very interesting and seeing a way of life not so long ago, the views of people queuing to pawn good to put food on the table was telling how grim life was. It makes you glad we live in prescent times . The museum was good especialy the part on Welsh sporting heros. Do not think children would find this place very gripping.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lottie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good introduction to Welsh mining and maritime history”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent several hours wandering round all the varied exhibits in the spacious two storeyed new building. The displays and video descriptions were especially helpful, in explaining the complicated mining and processing involved in producing wrought iron, steel, copper and refractory bricks, in terms easy enough for the non-specialist to understand. The shipping displays on the upper level were made more interesting by short films showing the varied fortunes of four ports during the last 200 years, while the sections devoted to coal mining and life in the crowded industrial heart of Swansea in the 19th century emphasised how harsh and short life was for many.
The museum has a very heavy bias towards interactive displays for children, especially those with short attention spans. It also seems to have an underlying political agenda in many of its presentations for the young. I'd worry about the long term coast of maintaining so many 'state of the art' resources, given that the free entry must place a heavy burden on local tax payers. However, certainly worth visiting... we learnt a lot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Waterfront Museum also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to National Waterfront Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing