We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yawn!”

National Waterfront Museum
Ranked #14 of 120 things to do in Swansea
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yawn!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I remember going to museums when I was young and being wowed by working models, machinery, things that got my attention

There is very little in the way of actual items and it is more based on text which quite frankly could be presented on a website with the same effect.

When given the opportunity to go to this mueseum I was excited at the prospect of coming face to face with items that would interest me from our industrial past. Mining machinery, maritime machinery etc etc. But no, just a load of text.

Utterly bored and disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    113
    61
    32
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Super little Gem”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this super little museum to ANYBODY staying in Swansea. We had a fabulous time over an hour or so and could easily visit again when back in Swansea. Lots of different subjects are covered and some great interaction bits for the kids (as well as three grown ups, especially on table football). Great sounds and videos with really good interesting facts. All in all some brilliant educational facts and figures. Put it on your itinerary.....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of interest from natural history and local history to the maritime and mining industries.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a warm welcome on a cold January Monday. Was pleasantly surprised to find so much of interest as I thought it would be just about shipping. Lovely displays of natural history. The local history of the inhabitants and their occupations were brought to life naming individuals and where they lived, from ordinary folk to the renowned. Learned that there was more than just mining coal in the area but other minerals too shown in interesting diplays. Didn't have time to explore all of the exhibits but would certainly go again when I'm in the area. There did seem to be something for everyone to enjoy and not too many artefacts as in some museums where it can be a bit overwhelming. Lovely airy building, very clean, relaxed seating areas inside and outside and although the cafe was short on gluten-free food options, otherwise very good. The staff were all polite, helpful and friendly. Could perhaps have had a hands-on display of local shells with posters/leaflets about this that visitors could then use to identify the abundance of shells found on the beautiful beach - a pleasant stroll away along a beautiful promenade, even in winter. All this and the museum is free!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benj E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sa6 5he
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old v New Museum”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Waterfront Museum is not as good as the old Museum many of the exhibits that were in the old Museum is not to be seen now. My children used to love to visit the Museum as it was they are not as keen on the new one

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fredbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“interesting museum”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

A little small museum but contains lots of things.
I like the sece behind the museum. It looks like venice!

Helpful?
Thank Liu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Waterfront Museum also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to National Waterfront Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing