We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay at Gower Golf Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gower Golf Club
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay at Gower Golf Club”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have just returned from a 2night stay at Gower Golf Cub and had a lovely relaxing stay. The area is very picturesque with views of the estuary and is very convenient for access to the beautiful Gower beaches.
We sampled their Sunday lunch which was delicious[especially the ginger sponge pudding made by Anne] Breakfast and dinner were also good. Owner and staff very friendly and accommodating and we will certainly use them again if in that area. We booked the deal through Groupon for a very good price but feel it is still good value at the normal rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    72
    42
    35
    23
See reviews for
58
94
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just returned from the gower golf club, stayed for the. 1 night, check in was quick shown to the room which was clean and tidy but cold as the heating was off, soon warmed up though, had an evening meal which was nice but not a lot of choice, had a quiet drink as we we the only ones in the bar, breakfast fine. Overall it was okay but as it's a golf club it would suit a golfer on a weekend away trip

Room Tip: Stayed in room 10 nice and clean, no remote for TV or milk to go with tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob1obe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Gower golf club and from the moment we got there we were made to feel most unwelcome. As a party of 16 we booked our trip 8 months in advance. On our arrival we were asked what time we wanted to eat in the evening, we said a time and we had o wait over an hour for our meals which were pre ordered. This happened on out second night also. We were asked if we could have a preset menu as there was a function on in the next room and we said yes so as to speed things up as we had a taxi booked to go to Swansea but it didn't work. Over an hour after our food was due the taxi turned up so we had to go without food. Bearing in mind this was a golfing holiday and we booked so far in advance, to top our trip off we were told on our last day that out tee times had been double booked and they had arranged a charity golf day and that the course was unavailable.
On the morning of our last day we went down for breakfast only to find that there was nothing set up in the restaurant. There were no tablecloths on the tables, chairs were stacked up against the wall, no tea, coffee, nothing. They drafted in the cleaner to help and she was rushing around like an idiot, we all felt really sorry for her.
We would never go back nor would we advise anyone else to go there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank geoffevans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swansea hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited the golf club for a meal with 50 others and was disappointed !!
With several elder less mobile people we were directed down 4 flights of stairs !!when after the meal a gentle incline could have been used if anyone had been there to greet the party .
Down in the admittedly inviting room with if the weather had been better a stunning view was hidden ,but the toilets were very basic with just one working !! All be it slowly flushing , the cutlery had been machine washed and not checked ! One of the party washed theirs in the washroom ? Sent up for the carvery I admittedly was the only vegetarian and was sent up with the first table but although no one said my hadn't been prepared if informed I would have sat and waited and laughed ! The veggies were served but quite stingily I thought ! but there was a marvellous selection and served by very polite waitresses we were offered extra gravy constantly and when asked to change a spoon was done with a smile and immediately as was any other problem ,I might return maybe it was one of days for then

Room Tip: Go on a sunny day the view is apparently wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abersoch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Being members of a gold club thought it would be a good place to stay but disappointed.
Rooms were very dirty, dark and dismal.
Staff pleasant enough especially chef.
Room where you have breakfast not very welcoming as its a large function room which for the first breakfast had not even been made more presentable after a function the night before.
No restaurants locally only two pub grub places that weren't up to much.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 101SJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A great place to stay and play challenging golf. Certainly a thinking course. The rooms are good and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food is excellent and servings sufficient. The breakfast was good and plenty of toast! We were lucky with the weather but it probably can get a bit windy.t

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gimlik2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night (Saturday) in this hotel. We'd been mountain biking all day so were looking for a comfortable room and a good shower. We had both but there was an engagement party on in the golf club which was very noisy (music and shouting) into the early hours. The breakfast was good and cooked to order with good service. Rooms need a bit of upgrade, carpets a bit tatty.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
5.4 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
172 reviews
6.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,644 reviews
4.8 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#11 of 22 in Swansea
715 reviews
5.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gower Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gower Golf Club

Property: The Gower Golf Club
Address: Cefn Goleu | Three Crosses, Swansea SA4 3HS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gower Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gower Golf Club occupies a commanding location high above the Loughor Estuary on the North side of Gower Peninsula. Our rooms are located in 2 traditional stone barns and while we have no formal reception area,you can be assured a warm welcome by all our staff. We welcome golfers holidaymakers walkers and cyclists and business travellers.We take pride in our undisturbed sleep,comfortable beds and generous showers. We are ideally located for access to M4, Swansea City Centre, Gower Peninsula, Round Wales Cycle Path and the local railway station is just 5 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gower Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Golf Club Hotel Swansea
Gower Hotel Swansea
The Gower Golf Club Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing