We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night club city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Night club city”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

If your into the club life then this is the hotel for you. If i'd known this Premier Inn was slap bang in the middle of countless nightclubs i would have gone elsewhere.

Luke warm reception from Rebecca on the desk when i arrived, she did explain everything i needed to know though. Thank god i had a 3rd floor room, because it seems there is a nightclub right below the hotel. I opened the door to my room and the music (people under 21 would call it that) was shaking the room. Even closing the window had little effect. Thankfully at 10pm the music stopped although i could still hear other loud music in the distance. As this was a Sunday night i had a feeling the music couldn't go on too late, wonder how late it would be on a Saturday night though?

The room itself although a little dark was fine overlooking a multi storey car park.

If it wasn't for the location this hotel would have scored more highly, so if your looking for a quiet night go somewhere else or bring good earplugs!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmel1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Thank you for your review. We do apologise that you were disturbed during your stay. We do endeavour to inform all our guest prior to booking that we are located in a lively part of town, I'm sorry that you were not informed of this. At Premier Inn we take the service provided to our guests very seriously and endeavour to meet the needs of all our visitors. We do hope we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    256
    88
    36
    33
See reviews for
183
240
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neath
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

A group of us stayed at the hotel after a night out, I was really impressed with the door staff on duty, nothing like the thugs you get in pubs and bars. The night manager helped me to my room as I had lost my key.

The rooms were spotless on arrival, and breakfast in the morning was top notch, "eat as much as you like" sorted my hangover right out.

The girls on check-in were very freindly and the boys in the bar were a great laugh. Even bumped into the duty manager who was on his rounds in the coridoor who was very pleasant.

Over all this hotel (especially on the weekend) is the ideal place to stay after a night out!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeathHugo_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2010
We delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to delivery the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

As a hotel, the Premier Inn Swansea City Centre is typical of the Premier Inn product. It's a budget hotel that is reliably clean, of satisfactory standard and lives up to Premier Inn expectations. The staff were friendly and courteous and happy to help as and when required. How you feel about my comments will depend on your reason for staying here. A fabulous location to the main nightlife hub, restaurants and bars - if you want a place to rest your weary head following a fab night out - this is definately the hotel for you, I could not fault it. If on the other hand you want a decent nights sleep - pick another hotel unless you turn in to the living dead once your head hits the pillow; especially if you go at the weekend! We stayed two nights and, if we were lucky, managed to sleep for a very brief one. I must say the staff were great when I mentioned the 'Guaranteed Good Night' policy but nonetheless, if you love your sleep it might be worth trying the other Premier Inn location in the city. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes to the party-types, no to those that need their 8 hours of beauty sleep :-)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkatersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2008

This is the second time i have stayed at the hotel, the first being back in 2007. Since my last stay the hotel has come on leaps and bounds. They have had triple glazing installed, have security on the doors and have even had cameras put in the corridoors. Although it is still a busy location on the weekends, i felt safe in the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely and clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. If you are thinking of staying in the city centre I would put this hotel at the top of your list as it has everything you could possibly need. I'll be going back again very very soon.

  • Liked — The lovely big comfy bed
  • Disliked — That we couldnt stay longer
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank graciebaby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed here when attending a friend's party. It was good value for money - just £60 for both of us, room only. The room was very clean and tidy and reasonably spacious. The room was at the back of the building facing the car park, not the best view but much quieter than I'd imagine the rooms facing Wind Street which is party central on a weekend! There was a droning sound from adjacent plant units but the triple glazing and a few glasses of wine ensured this did not disturb us! The bed was very comfortable. However, the room ws quite dark, even with the lights on it was difficult to use the mirror for hairdrying etc. Only a small complaint though. We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel - instead heading to the Uplands diner - which is highly recomended and good value.

Top tip for a stylish drink - pop under the subway to Morgan's hotel for cocktails and nibbles in their cool bar!

All in all, a good tidy central hotel with no frills but everything you need to relax in comfort!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dark room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrsFriendzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,586 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Address: 42 Wind Street | The City Gates, Swansea SA1 1EE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#1 Best Value Hotel in Swansea
#3 Family Hotel in Swansea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Swansea, right beside Swansea Market and the bars and bright lights of Wind Street and a stone throw away from the Swansea marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel Swansea
Travel Lodge Swansea
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing