We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location for entertainment”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here on a four day family break and really liked the location.

The main shopping area is minutes away and it is surrounded by good chain restaurants (so you know what to expect - with kids that's good) and the cinema is just behind it.

Parking is extra and can work out slightly expensive, just you can say that in any city centre I suppose.

Breakfast was nice but the bar both in the mornings and in the evening lacked atmosphere, but as a base that's not too much of a problem.

For the price I don't think you can fault it.

The room was very clean and overall it served us well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our clean, comfortable room and helpful team here met your expectations. We value all feedback that we receive from our guests and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    257
    92
    36
    33
See reviews for
188
243
42
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Typical Premier Inn, so you know exactly what you're getting. Stayed overnight in a double room which was spacious and well equipped. Overlooked a multi-storey carpark so not a brilliant view, but for an overnight business stop that wasn't an issue. Bathroom was fine though the decor needed a little refresh (slight peeling wallpaper in places).
Restaurant was disappointing, big contrast between the menu style (which looked contemporary and inviting) and the decor in the restaurant, which was literally the breakfast room with a bar in it - needless to say we ate elsewhere, though there is no shortage of choice along Wind St. Breakfast was typical hot buffet fare and was as expected.

There was a suspicious looking red stain on the carpet, I shudder to think what that probably was, but this didn't stop me enjoying a good nights sleep.

Paid £3 for 24hrs WiFi (not a bad rate) but in the evening it dropped out for a number of hours and I couldn't reconnect until morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for rating us on Trip Advisor. In regards to your comments to do with the bar and restaurant we are currently in the process of waiting on a refurb, in which we hope will improve the atmosphere upstairs. We also have a brand new menu, if you are ever in the area again please do pop by and try it. Again thank you for your review we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at the premier inn with 2 friends on the 31st of August after a shopping trip in Swansea.
As our trip was last minute we booked our room at the hotel on arrival. We were told that 3 people were aloud to stay in a double/single room which we thought for £75 was great value, booked it with no problems.

Everything was great up until we decided to go for a look around wind street (which btw is the busiest street I've ever seen, police and drunks everywhere!)
Not being from Swansea we had no Idea about the street being notorious for partying.
When we arrived back at the hotel, we were greeted by 5, yes 5 security guards questioning us on our room & told us that 3 aren't aloud in a room which we had no idea of and for one of us to get out!

Luckily we had enough money to scrape together to get another room. Whilst getting this sorted a man actually got arrested in the lobby as he was kicking off about his room situation. The staff handled this terribly with one man even standing up and getting in this mans face making the situation worse. For 3 17/18 year old girls this was very scary!

After finally getting into our rooms (now 12am) thinking we could get some sleep, we were greeted with the loudest pumping music I have ever heard! This continued on until 3am which was followed by a very drunk man banging our door and security chasing after him, screaming down their radios!! All in all I think I had about an hours sleep!

Fair play to the hotel though is that when I mentioned this in the morning to the whilst checking out, I was straight away offered a full refund for both rooms which I wasn't excepting at all, so thank you.

I will be avoiding this hotel in the future though, not ideal for a quiet weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xcourtneypaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Swansea City Centre Premier Inn. Premier Inn endeavour all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and I apologies that on this occasion the external noise levels disturbed your sleep. Whilst we are located in a busy city centre location we conduct regular corridor checks for noise, these are done twice an hour during peak weekend times. Security is placed on the doors in order to deter party goers who we feel will cause noise within the hotel. I'm afraid as is company policy we only allow 2 adults in each room, I'd like to apologise that upon your check in this wasn't made clear to you. We take great pride in our good night guarantee and am glad that on this occassion you were offered a refund. Thank you for taking the time to write you review, we would love to have you come and stay with us again soon.



Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be followed up with all hotel teams and external businesses. Your feedback in very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived early and although our room was not ready the receptionist offered us a disabled room. No problem with that, as we guessed that it would be large, we were not wrong! Surprisingly, the room (250) is a long way from the lifts, for a wheelchair user they would have found it challenging. The other thing was that although the bathroom was large, it had a bath with over bath shower, and plenty of handles. A wet room might have been better. The tea and coffee making facilities in the room seemed to be a bit mean, but you could always get more from reception. There was only one set of towels in the room, we did ask at reception for a second set, but they never arrived. The hotel in on Wind Street, and everyone was telling us that is the liveliest street in Swansea and we won’t get any sleep. We were pleasantly surprised our room overlooked a dual carriageway and the triple glazing worked a treat.

You are allowed a free 30mins of Wifi, again a bit mean, it should be free.

The breakfast was reasonably good quality and value, but the restaurant is small and can get very busy, the staff work hard to keep the buffet stocked. The location of the hotel is very central; Wind Street offers plenty of bars and restaurants. Swansea covered market is close and well worth a visit, stocking plenty of local delicacies. The multi-storey car park next door offers free parking for the first hour, which is worth knowing.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, not overlooking Wind Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Swansea City Centre Premier Inn. I'm disappointed to hear that the extra towels you requested for your room were never taken to your room. I have spoken to the team members on shift during your check in and have given your feedback to ensure this doesn't happen to yourself or other guests again. Once again thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Despite being on the top floor at the far end of the corridor from the entrance there was the bass of the music from a nearby bar until 245am. The hotel is currently trying to get the council to review the situation as apparently its a relatively new problem with the bar putting a DJ basically on the street, they need to get it sorted soon or they will be out of business from refunding everyone under their 'good night asleep guaranteed' policy! I understand some noise is to be expected on a weekend but thought I'd avoided that in my lovely spacious family room away from the lifts and at the end of a long corridor so no loud, drunk people would pass by. Hadn't foreseen the thud of bass though!

The room was lovely, bed very comfortable, great service by checking in staff and Richard who checked us out & agreed a refund was due on the room seeing as I had not got to sleep until 3am. What a shame about the noise as the central location to the LC2 and restaurants was great for a trip with my daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAWel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your stay with us. Again I'd like to apologise for the noise issues you had during your stay. We do try our very best at the hotel to place guests in the best possible room which best suits their needs. The good night guarantee is always there should you have such issues as the ones you experienced. I'm disappointed that on this occassion you had to use it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very happy with the Premier Inn -tho is in area of "loud drunks with wine bars a stumble away". fast food chains nearby and kinda close to the 24 hrs McDonalds.

Good to see the police visiting the Premier Inn at night (for a coffee or two ....or three)

Hotel room is clean and tidy no moans for that.
The lift is a slight issue .....its the slowest in the world ....even seen another customer give up and walk up the stairs !

The car park next door in operated by NCP. It gets locked at 23:59.
Special offer with hotel is that 24 hrs can cost £6.50 - just as long as you don't move the car. This proved fatal for me - as having to go out and then repark ended up with a £18 overnight stay that night. Nothing wrong with the hotel but I have to sidestep vomit outside the car park (entrance is 8 ft from the hotel entrance)

My hotel room had the air con outside - and having to sleep with window open - was a tad noisy.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfield999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello there,

Thanks for your kind and fair review of our Premier Inn Hotel. We are in a very lively location which we do try to advertise as much as possible. Great for some, dreadful for others!

We have a great relationship with our local police force, they like to pop in for a coffee or two and after all they do for us, we're happy to oblige. It's quite a close community here!

Personally, I'd completley agree about the lift situation. As much as we whinge and moan about them, replacing them costs a rather dear amount!

Sorry to hear about your car park issues. We're very proud of the discount we have with the car park, but I do agree, it doesn't work so well for those who will be back and forth. We usually reccommend to pay in the NCP for short stays as it free for the first hour, £2 for two hours etc...

Thank once again for our review, we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked his hotel for a 3 night stay over bank holiday weekend and would certainly book to stay here again. All staff we came in to contact with were very welcoming and friendly. Room we had was on 2nd floor and we were above a local night club, although we could here the bass of the music it did not stop us from having a great nights sleep. Restaurant area was small, particularly for breakfast time, we also waited to be seated on the Sunday morning, having said that the food was worth the wait and have no complaints at all. I would also like to commend the staff on their hard work on this particular morning as they were run off their feet with the busy service. The 3 course meal we had on the Saturday night was very enjoyable and both myself and my husband left the restaurant full. We didn't encounter any problems with service at all and both had a very enjoyable stay. We look forward to staying here again!!

Room Tip: If you have problems with mobility request a room closer to the lifts as some can be quite a walk aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello,

Thanks a lot for your great review of Premier Inn Swansea City Centre.

I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back. Bank Holiday weekend was a particularly busy one for us so I thank you for your patience in regards to the wait for breakfast.

And our corridors are very long, so its true for those guests with mobility issues to contact us before hand would be useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
999 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,637 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Address: 42 Wind Street | The City Gates, Swansea SA1 1EE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#3 Family Hotel in Swansea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Swansea, right beside Swansea Market and the bars and bright lights of Wind Street and a stone throw away from the Swansea marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel Swansea
Travel Lodge Swansea
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing