We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian Meal Ever”
Review of Killay Tandoori - CLOSED

Killay Tandoori
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Indian Meal Ever”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The newly refurbished Killay Spice is an absolute gem of a restaurant. I have eaten here now on a few occasions since it reopened in December and I have to say the food and service I got on all occasions was top class. my Take Away meal last night was by far the best indian meal I have ever had!! The Achari Batak Roast Duck was succulent and full of flavour and spices. The naan bread nice and soft, fresh like bakery bread. My lamb chop starters were just right, full of juice and not to dry. The Killay staff are so friendly and the Manager seems to be really popular and well known by the customers. Excellent restaurant, Staff and food. would love to give it more than five stars if I could!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Having previously been a regular at this establishment I was disappointed to see it close.

It has now had a complete revamp and has opened under new ownership.

The improvements made are great. The decor and ambience are now second to none. The staff are welcoming and efficient. The menu is mouthwatering. The food is well prepared and absolutely delicious.

Under previous owners I went there just because it was within walking distance. Under the new owners I would travel miles. It really is that good.

Back to being a regular again I think.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My dining experience at killay spice...”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was most pleased with my recent visit and dining experience in this newest opened restaurant in Swansea. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this to anybody looking for a lovely evening for dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnas1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Glad that at last decent owners are running this restaurant. Lovely decor and food really good. Will be our regular restaurant from now on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tess42uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Now called the Killay Spice”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The Killay Tandoori closed a few months ago. It has been reopened by the owners of the Rose Indienne and The Viceroy in St Helens Road Swansea. They have obviously spent a lot of money on it and the decor and ambience is very welcoming - as are the staff!!
The menu is similar to the Viceroy and the restaurant offers a wide range of meals. We really enjoyed our first visit last week. Karahi chicken and the Madras were excellent. Recommend this 'new' restaurant and will definitely return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank paul2hoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killay Tandoori also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing