We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it..”
Review of Ibis Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Swansea
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently stayed in the Ibis hotel just outside Swansea. I wasn't expecting much so was pleasantly surprised to find my room was spotlessly clean, spacious and modern. The bar and restaurant were open 24/7 although I didn't order anything. Staff were helpful, they booked a taxi for my room and rang up when it arrived. Free parking in a secure car park just outside. One minor detail.. The dual carriage way just to the side of the hotel can get a tad noisy in the early hours. For what it is, I can't fault it.. Will be staying again and recommending!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophiee94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Sophie

Thanks a lot for the compliments. I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed you stay at Ibis Swansea.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay

Kind regards

Aasif Iqbal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 801 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very Clean room, spacious, light and airy. Room only price is very reasonable. However staff seemed clueless. When asked about bus routes, it took the lady what seemed 20 minutes to look in a leaflet for a bus time. Town center isn't too far to walk, though after a night out a taxi cost £10. Bathrooms are quite small, so once you've had a shower all surfaces including the walls, floors, handles become soaking with condensation. Also we placed a do not disturb sign on the outside of door and locked door, but this did not deter the maids who kept trying to enter the room whilst we were sleeping. Or knocking which woke us up! Very good check out time of 12pm which is brilliant for packing and leaving at a reasonable time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for your kind comments and compliments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the disturbance caused by housekeping. Your comments were noted and been addressed to respective team member
We look forward to welcoming you in near future
Kind regards
Aasif Iqbal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val71011
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights mid week (last Wed & Thurs) at this hotel. I spent the first 25 years of my life living in Swansea and so after 7 years away I returned on a short break with my wife. The 'SA1' waterfront area of Swansea has grown a lot over these years and so it was a little annoying being further than I thought from the city centre. That said there is a bus stop near by and taxis only cost £5 -£6 into the city. The hotel itself is OK. The bathrooms are starting to look a little grubby but nothing of real concern. There is free parking which is a bonus in Swansea who again in recent years have doubled parking prices and removed most long stay car parks. A tip for the room is to ask for an even number. This allows you to e on the face of the building furthest from the nearby bypass. All in all a good stay with only the iron I accidentally left in my room on departure going missing putting a damper on it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshrexer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Welshrexer

Thank you for the kind compliments and comments. We are currently in the process of updating the wet rooms and any concerns will be resolved soon.
I believe the iron was found upon your departure and is now in your possession.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Swansea
Kind regards

Aasif Iqbal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardandJoan86
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed one night on business. The hotel is outside of Swansea on a business park so you need a car or taxi to get into town. For the price paid this is probably the best value room I have stayed in, very clean, comfortable, with an excellent bed with good wifi and TV. The menu is limited and breakfast OK but for the price - room, dinner, breakfast for about £50.00 its hard to beat

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear MJ53

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Swansea. Thank you very much for the compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Ibis Swansea on your next visit

Kind regards

Aasif Iqbal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Enjoyed our stay,staff were helpful.We found the taxi firm used by the hotel,citytaxis to be unreliable and waited over 45 minutes without the taxi arriving,ending up sharing a taxi with another couple who had booked a different firm.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swanseagirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for your kind comments and complements. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Swansea

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit

Kind regards

Aasif Iqbal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
741 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#10 of 22 in Swansea
232 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Swansea

Address: / a 483 Fabian Way, Swansea SA1 8LD, Wales (Formerly Ramada Encore Swansea Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: $47 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Swansea 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Swansea Bay hotel, featuring 99 modern rooms, a restaurant and a bar, is ideally situated in the heart of the SA1 waterfront development. The hotel is just five minutes from centre of the city of Swansea and its cafe and bar district, a ten to fifteen minutes drive to tourist attractions such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, the Grand Theatre, the National Maritime Museum as well as Gower Peninsula and its award winning beaches. Free car parking is available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ibis Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ibis Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing