We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap night but could be cleaner.”
Review of Ibis Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Swansea
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    299
    186
    54
    50
See reviews for
147
288
73
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

First time Ive stayed in an IBIS hotel and will be the last time.
Toilets smelled all the time, The cups that were in the room was never changed as marks left from the night before still had the stains.
one night was felling under weather and asked for 2 slices of lemon from reception to have in my room and was told there was no lemon. (a hotel which has a bar and food Facilities ???)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooch6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer

I am sorry to learn that your stay with us was not satisfactory. Your comments have been noted and addressed to respective team members

I hope you will provide us with another opportunity to offer you a genuine hassle free stay

Kind regards

Aasif Iqbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a business trip to South Wales. The hotel is very basic and what you might expect for a cheap budget hotel. Staff were pleasant and room was clean. However, the rear of the hotel is near the main road and it was very noisy. Location is good for access to the M4. Would not recommend for anything other than a short business trip.

Room Tip: Avoid odd numbered rooms that back onto the main road. Very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieH110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thanks for your kind comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay for one night at Ibis Swansea

We look forward to welcoming on your next short business trip to Swansea

Kind regards

Aasif Iqbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

used by large groups of young people out for a good time in the city centre bars. noisy before they set off and even noisier upon their return in the wee small hours. Someone was going around letting themselves into rooms in the middle of the night too (clearly they had to have a key). How can this happen?

poor quality breakfast too

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear John H

Please accept my apologies for the inconvinience caused due to other other guest during your stay at Ibis Swnasea

Your comments on breakfast have been noted and addressed since

Kind regards

Aasif Iqbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swansea hotels

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

i think that this hotel has had a referb as it is so much better than some of the reviews they do not have carpet but laminate flooring and the bathroom was a fantastic wet room we arrived at 9.30 am and they checked us in straight away with no charge for early chekc in hotel was very clean and smelt lovely throughout i would go back and recommend it. ideally situated 5mins drive from town centre with masses of free parking and a mcdonalds on the door step

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRANDMRSHOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thanks for your kind compliments and comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Look forward to welcoming again at Ibis Swansea

Kind regards

Aasif Iqbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had the misfortune of staying in this hotel last month when my work had me stay there. The rooms were in appalling condition- the bathroom stank of urine, the curtains and carpet were fouled and the window wouldn't even close, letting in the noise of the motorway.
But much worse than this was the fact that a possession of mine was removed from my room by one of the cleaning staff.
I had left a dental retainer in a cup of cleaning solution while I went to work- I do it every morning- and when I got back from work on the last night the cup was gone and so was my retainer. The front desk staff were very apologetic and promised to call me the next day to tell me why it had been moved but never did. Two weeks and a few emails to the manager later I am finally told by him that I did not leave the retainer in the cup of solution, the cleaner 'remembers' seeing it left in the bedroom. Now I know exactly where I left it- I would never leave something so delicate on a dresser- and am utterly appalled that the manager has lied to me to shirk responsibility.
You would think that the Ibis head office customer service person would be better at dealing with the situation but they refused to acknowledge my complaint and quite patronisingly treated the situation as a 'lost property' incident.
Now I'm in the position of having to replace a £200 retainer while the hotel that presumably threw it away shrugs their shoulders.
So PLEASE don't stay here. It's horrible anyway and if something goes wrong, like one of your belongings goes missing, you won't get any help from them at all. It's an absolute disgrace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSwansea, General Manager at Ibis Swansea, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Christy L

Once again, apologies for the trouble caused during your stay

If you wish to discuss the matter further, please contact me directly at the hotel

Kind regards

Aasif Iqbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#12 of 22 in Swansea
702 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#10 of 22 in Swansea
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Swansea

Property: Ibis Swansea
Address: / a 483 Fabian Way, Swansea SA1 8LD, Wales (Formerly Ramada Encore Swansea Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Swansea 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Swansea Bay hotel, featuring 99 modern rooms, a restaurant and a bar, is ideally situated in the heart of the SA1 waterfront development. The hotel is just five minutes from centre of the city of Swansea and its cafe and bar district, a ten to fifteen minutes drive to tourist attractions such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, the Grand Theatre, the National Maritime Museum as well as Gower Peninsula and its award winning beaches. Free car parking is available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ibis Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ibis Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing