We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good food!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeira Restaurant

Madeira Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 640 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Madeiras is a great restaurant, really good portuguese, honest and tasty and very friendly staff!! I have been there a couple of time and will go back !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank analss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    127
    37
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tastiest food in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal, the restaurant is done up nicely and the atmosphere is relaxed. My mum did ask for someone to hang her coat up but was told there was nowhere and she should roll it up and put it on the shelf! But apart from this, the service was very good! We had seafood dish for 2, we were told it takes 40 mins to prepare but it actually came quite quickly and it was delicious! Also I had the half pint of shrimp to start, I was a little disappointed that there was no dipping sauce but actually they were so fresh and tasty that they didn't need anything. We saw some of the other dishes being served and the presentation looked excellent. Thoroughly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We chose Madeira in part because of its convenient location and because of the excellent TA reviews. We were not disappointed. Food was delicious. Nice presentation. Friendly staff. Definitely recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, West Glamorgan, South Wales.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“madeira comes to swansea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been going to The Madeira restaurant in Cardiff for many years and have always been very happy with the food and service. We were therefore extremely happy to find out that the the Madeira has come to Swansea. Myself my husband and my daughter went on a Wednesday. The interior is very much like the Cardiff restaurant and very informal and relaxing. Service was excellent. The food is exactly the same as Cardiff, superbly cooked and a large choice of dishes. The wine list is extensive and there is something for all tastes and pockets. We enjoyed our visit so much we are intending another visit this weekend. We only hope we can get a table as I'm sure as soon as this great restaurants reputation gets around this area it will become as busy as its sister in Cardiff. Would recommend this to anyone who likes good food and good wine and doesnt want to break the bank in having a great meal out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neathfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasteless bland,but good service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and i had a meal here on a Saturday night, First impressions seemed good and that's where it stopped, My starter and main were bland and tasteless and the exact can be said for my wife's. All fur and no knickers springs to mind. Once but never again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank miss_hop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madeira Restaurant also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Madeira Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing