We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfaction Guaranteed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orissa Indian Cuisine - CLOSED

Orissa Indian Cuisine
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Satisfaction Guaranteed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have eaten here 3 times so I feel it appropriate to review now.First the staff,they are all so friendly and helpful in a nice laid back way,from the time you enter the restaurant,advising on the food choices and delivering a first class service throughout the visit.Secondly the food.What a great menu, and the quality and quantity are superb.There's quite alot on the menu not found in the average run of the mill Indian.Thirdly the ambiance is great,minimally decorated,nice background music and very clean.All in all highly recommended,so if you're a fan of Indian Cuisine,give it a try.I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablo560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Make the effort to visit!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited this restaurant on easter sunday,and have to say" never had such a nice welcome in any restaurant in a long time!! The service was faultless,the staff very welcoming,and the food lovely.The place was spotless,and the ambience ever so nice.We had a very relaxing meal,no rush to leave the table.Im very fussy,and would rather leave a place if its not clean,than eat there!!This restraurant is well worth a visit,and i hope you receive the exceptional service we received.I only wish we lived nearer,so we could go there more often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Questionable hygene”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Witnessed the staff mock the starter of cooled. Then receive a returned glass of wine and pour it back into a bottle for resale.The main course was too laiden with red colourant, too sweet and the lamb had been reheated . A rip off venue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Appreciates_value
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrissaManagement, Manager at Orissa Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are very sorry that the food wasn't up to the standard that you were expecting, all our waiters are trained in health and hygiene up to the restaurants standard and would not re-use anything whether it is drinks or food.

We will look over the CCTV system and if there are any wrongs there disciplinary action will be taken.

Regards

Ashab Ali - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swansea might have won the capital one cup this year but this place wont be winning any curry awards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The place looks inviting enough, bright and reasonably good decor. However overall I found the food to be truly disappointing. Had sheek kebabs which were deep red in colour but tasted a bit dry and powdery. Not tender and succulent as was expected. Main course of chicken jalfrezi bit tasteless. The chicken cubes floating round in sub standard masala sauce with wads of huge onion bits as well as full chillis. Chappatis well small and expensive. Galab jaman apparently you can't order to take away! So ordered a portion to eat in. Portion = 1 miniscule jaman! ! @ £2!! Expensive and tasteless food. Won't be going back. Knew I should have gone to Nandos!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nazmar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrissaManagement, Manager at Orissa Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Unfortunately we do not have the facilities to provide takeaway desserts, I am terribly sorry about the food not being up to the standard that you were expecting and if you choose to try us again we will make sure your dining experience is better.

Regards

Ashab Ali - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I visited here with a large party and was very happy with the service and the food. I ordered "off menu" for my starter and it was not a problem with the chef and when it arrived it was beautiful. My main was equally as nice. The prices were great. All in all it was fantastic and I will definately be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orissa Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea County, South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing