We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it :) thanks poet corner”
Review of The Poets Corner

The Poets Corner
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poets Corner
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in the poets corner for 4nights and I will definitely be coming back to stay in aug when im swansea. Room was clean and tidy an you only had to open the door to smell the clean laundry. Towels provided.. digital tv.. kettle with coffee and tea.. and the use of an iron. Staff where friendly and polite and very accommodating. Food was lovely with massive portions.. and its right opposite the beach added bonus :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linzispeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 61 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Normally I go here lunchtime took family there for food at 5pm to show them how nice the food was! Different chef ordered 12oz Gammon got a bacon rasher complained to chef he gave me £2 back, good customer service! Wont be recommending this place again :-(

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benellie1, Owner at The Poets Corner, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hi I'm so sorry you was disappointed with your gammon we had a different chef in the day before that ordered 10oz gammons instead of 12 oz I'm sure it was a bit more than a bacon rasher if you would like to call in and discuss this with me I will be more than happy to sort this matter out as I don't want any of my customers to be disappointed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Me and my friends stayed at the Poets Corner pub on Oystermouth RD in Swansea going back last week, it was such a friendly place. The staff were warm and welcoming. They do outstanding meals at the bar and at a very reasonable price. The rooms were clean and tidy and once again at a reasonable price. The location is great too. I would certainly recommend The Poets Corner to anybody.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a lovelly view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A large group of us went for lunch. We pre-ordered our food and it was served promptly and was excellent quality and nicely presented. The chips are home made :) The service is friendly and welcoming.

A menu on your website would be good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gengriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friends and i called into this pub on our way into town for a night out, the pub itself was very warm and inviting.we decided to order off the menu the meals are fantastic value for money,they had live music which was brill,the staff were all very friendly ended up staying at the pub instead of going into town fantastic atmosphere couldnt have asked for more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky010182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here this past September while visiting family in the area, and I have to say what a welcoming and homey feel I experienced. From arrival to departure I could not fault Carla the manageress or the hospitality received. If you're looking for somewhere that's close to town, good food and a safe warm place to go after a long day visiting family (lol), you wouldn't find a better b&b. I have no idea what the other reviewers are talking about with their 'rough' people in the bar. I certainly don't class myself as rough, nor anyone in there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalbward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night, never again, originally booked in for 2 nights and was informed at 10am of the first morning of my stay that the room needed to be cleared for "construction" (whatever that means) which turned out to be an out and out lie seeing as the room had been rented out again already by the time i walked past there the following night. The room was not inviting at all and was in a dreadful condition as far as furnishing, shabby old carpet, moth eaten rug, the most basic single bed, no ensuite, no kettle in the room, no double glazing, the Bnb and general area tends to attract a lof of lower class rough types I felt. Doesnt make you feel welcome at all and the place is like a maze to get out of.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benellie1, Owner at The Poets Corner, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

I need to respond to this review a single guy booked in a single room when I went upto his room there were 3 people in the room I asked him to either pay for the extra people or please leave he stated one night and then left I found most of his belongings all over the 3 floors we have we didn't say it was construction we told u to
Leave thanks for your reviews they do help us make things better x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#7 of 22 in Swansea
977 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 22 in Swansea
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
762 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Swansea Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poets Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poets Corner

Address: 296-298 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Poets Corner Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing