We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Morgans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morgans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have stayed in Morgans twice now and both times have been impressed. The hotel rooms are all different and charged at different rates. We have just stayed in the Mariner Room which was £150.00 for the night with Breakfast included. There is nothing not to like about this hotel. The room was spacious, clean and the bed very comfortable. The Staff and all very friendly and helpful and the bar reasonably priced for a hotel. The location is perfect for Swansea nightlife with many bars and restaurants around. We will be returning soon hopefully

Room Tip: Stay in the main building in one of the named room you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    196
    103
    46
    40
See reviews for
102
333
31
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My son and fiancé choose this hotel for their wedding venue and I have to say what a wonderful choice it turned out to be .The whole experience from the ceremony to the meal and the overnight stay could not be faulted .The hotel building was totally magnificent , with a warm and friendly atmosphere making everything feel very special .The service that the staff provided was second to none and everything ran like clockwork .I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of booking a wedding there .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daistew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in room Nushka which is in the separate townhouse just around the corner from the main hotel and is the budget room at £65 a night. We had our bags carried to the room for us. The room was immaculate and spotless. The bathroom was exquisite too. Breakfast options were fantastic. We had the full breakfast. I would recommend the scrambled eggs, which was the best I ever tasted. We will, without a doubt be staying again. Excellent!!

Room Tip: If on a budget room Nushka is outstanding value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Unfortunately for Morgans Hotel, we had stayed at a most fantastic B&B in Pembrokeshire the night before, so comparisons were inevitable.

I like the hotel very much, but was not so keen on the room, which was said to be ground floor, but was more lower ground being in a separate small building down a few steps, and across the smokers' decking area.

The room lacked good lighting for reading and also nowhere, apart from the wardrobe, to put items. I ended up locking things away in my suitcase when we went out. However, the staff were excellent - very helpful, the food was good and overall the atmosphere was fine. It was also convenient for a cinema which was screening a Royal Opera House performance, and for the stores in the city centre. I only wish we had had time and energy to visit some of the nearby museums.

Would I go again? Yes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandpwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is a great place if you're visiting Swansea for the Gower. It's also at the heart of Swansea's night life with loads of bars and restaurants. The rooms are excellent and the breakfast was very tasty.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the newer rooms in the building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whi5tler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

It was disappointing to stay at the highly hyped Townhouse across the road from the main building, it felt like an annex to the beautiful main hotel and that indeed is what it is. However, it seemed to all my party to be reminiscent of a pack packers hostel. Carpets in all public areas heavily stained and smelly. Poorly maintained.
I understand that there are planning difficulties with the exterior of the building, but our room had no air conditioning ( that you might expect from a 'boutique' hotel) and when I told the receptionist that sleeping had been difficult due to the lack of fresh air as the windows would not open, I was told that I should have asked for a fan. When I informed her that a fan had been provided, I was met with a dismissive comment that 'it would have been nice to be warm', again to be fair, it was a very warm night, but this comment was not helpful. I was not offered any redress.
In the bathroom, the lighting should have been brighter. The decor of the bathroom reminded me of Hannibal Lector's cell. This was the 'accessible' accommodation, which was adequate.
Tea and coffee provisions were only adequate. The only outstanding part of our stay was the breakfast, which was very good.
Overall, definitely not worth the money or stress. This was Premier Inn standard at over hyped prices.

Room Tip: Stay in the main Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and each time it leaves us wanting to go back. We stayed in the Henry Belle room which like all the others are individually furnished, however this room features a 4 poster bed,Huge TV and an impressive large bathroom with a massive walk in shower. The bar area is a hive of activity with a great selection of wines and champagne which are all reasonable priced. The location of this hotel is very central with all bars and restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a boutique city centre location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#14 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Hotel

Property: Morgans Hotel
Address: Somerset Place, Swansea SA1 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#5 Business Hotel in Swansea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#8 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans Hotel is located in the heart of the maritime quarter, within walking distance to the city centre of Swansea. The Main Hotel has 20 rooms of accommodation, a bar lounge, restaurant and conference facilities. The Townhouse, situated across a small side road from the main hotel, has an additional 22 bedrooms. Please note that we are unable offer room service in the Townhouse. The restaurant is open seven days a week to residents and we serve bar meals in our bar lounge daily. The restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday evening through to Sunday lunch. The hotel is non-smoking and we have disabled access and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel Swansea, Wales
Morgans Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing