We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morgans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morgans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is a great place if you're visiting Swansea for the Gower. It's also at the heart of Swansea's night life with loads of bars and restaurants. The rooms are excellent and the breakfast was very tasty.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the newer rooms in the building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whi5tler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    193
    98
    45
    38
See reviews for
95
324
31
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

It was disappointing to stay at the highly hyped Townhouse across the road from the main building, it felt like an annex to the beautiful main hotel and that indeed is what it is. However, it seemed to all my party to be reminiscent of a pack packers hostel. Carpets in all public areas heavily stained and smelly. Poorly maintained.
I understand that there are planning difficulties with the exterior of the building, but our room had no air conditioning ( that you might expect from a 'boutique' hotel) and when I told the receptionist that sleeping had been difficult due to the lack of fresh air as the windows would not open, I was told that I should have asked for a fan. When I informed her that a fan had been provided, I was met with a dismissive comment that 'it would have been nice to be warm', again to be fair, it was a very warm night, but this comment was not helpful. I was not offered any redress.
In the bathroom, the lighting should have been brighter. The decor of the bathroom reminded me of Hannibal Lector's cell. This was the 'accessible' accommodation, which was adequate.
Tea and coffee provisions were only adequate. The only outstanding part of our stay was the breakfast, which was very good.
Overall, definitely not worth the money or stress. This was Premier Inn standard at over hyped prices.

Room Tip: Stay in the main Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and each time it leaves us wanting to go back. We stayed in the Henry Belle room which like all the others are individually furnished, however this room features a 4 poster bed,Huge TV and an impressive large bathroom with a massive walk in shower. The bar area is a hive of activity with a great selection of wines and champagne which are all reasonable priced. The location of this hotel is very central with all bars and restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a boutique city centre location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This is my third family related trip to Swansea and to Morgans... it is always a nice change from the tiny hotel rooms in London - the rooms have all been spacious, bright and clean and the bathrooms luxurious. This trip was no different. So, if we need to make another trip to Swansea Morgans would be our first choice. However, some things need attention - there were cigarette butts around the entrance to the Town House building, the carpet in the hallway needs a good clean and breakfast was not the special affair we remember from past visits... And, given it is my third trip there, it would have been nice to hear "welcome back".

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1772_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I had lunch in Morgans today with some great friends. There were 8 of us in the party and we all had a fantastic meal and felt it was great value. Two courses for £9.95 and not one of us was disappointed with our choices. All the food was beautifully cooked and presented. I had soup to start, that was so tasty and lamb for main. The meal experience was enhanced by the efficient and helpful staff. I will definitely be back and while this review will appear on the hotel page Morgans offers an additional excellent restaurant option. I would definitely eat in if I were staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here before and had a great experience. Booked again recently to celebrate my fiancee 40th. It was a bank holiday so we arrived on a Sunday to stay untill bank holiday Monday. Ok lets get one thing straight, the hotel and rooms are brilliant and the staff are professional, freindly and top notch. My gripe is the restaurant. When I booked I was told the main restaurant is closed on a Sunday (even on a busy bank holiday? Really? ) but another room is used for staying guests. A menu in the room was very nice so down we went. Down is the word! The other restaurant room is a basement room, no windows, the air con wasnt on and the room was small. It was horribly claustrophobic and the other guests present didnt look impressed. The menu on the table differed hugely from the one in the room with a very limited selection that did not appeal. We left and went across the road to TGI Friday and had a nice enough meal. Not though a romantic celebration I was expecting. Not happy Morgans. Not happy at all!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I discovered this hotel by chance when looking for a hotel near Swansea Marina. They do a great half price B&B Sunday deal, even on a BH weekend!! We booked for Sunday night at £55 for our room and for the Monday at £110 for the room.

The hotel was full, so I booked a room called 'Glance' in the Townhouse opposite. This double room can be converted into a twin room.

We also booked Sunday lunch, which was absolutely delicious and great value and the staff were very attentive.

The staff throughout the hotel are very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast on both mornings was equally delicious. Breakfast service on both mornings was a little lacking in attention to detail in that dishes and plates were not removed at all as we finished eating, so they piled up on the side of the table. There was no offer of more coffee and tea or just a "is everything ok, is there anything else I can get you". However, staff were very quick to bring more tea and coffee when we did eventually ask.

Our room was lovely and the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was gorgeous and the big shower heavenly! We were concerned about the negative comments we read on Trip Advisor about the noisy creaking wooden floorboards at the townhouse and we did notice the noise above us in the day time, but it didn't disturb us at all during the night.

One little niggle that I've noticed particularly the last few times I've stayed at hotels in general, is the cutbacks in complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits. I'm not a massive tea drinker or biscuit eater, but why just three teabags and one packet of biscuits per two guest per room. Is there new hotel legislation been passed on this? I always have to ask for more or use one teabag to make two cups of tea. The tea cups at the Morgan are very small, so maybe this is why teabags are rationed.

Location was perfect, with easy access to the marina and shops in the town. There was also plenty of room in the free car park, even on the day of a wedding at the hotel. It's a great location to drive to the beautiful beaches in the Gower. We booked the Langland Bay Brasserie for lunch on the Monday, followed by a walk along the cliff top from Langland Bay to Caswell Bay - the views are stunning, whatever the weather.

We would definitely return to the Morgans Hotel and I have recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.4 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Hotel

Property: Morgans Hotel
Address: Somerset Place, Swansea SA1 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#5 Business Hotel in Swansea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#8 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans Hotel is located in the heart of the maritime quarter, within walking distance to the city centre of Swansea. The Main Hotel has 20 rooms of accommodation, a bar lounge, restaurant and conference facilities. The Townhouse, situated across a small side road from the main hotel, has an additional 22 bedrooms. Please note that we are unable offer room service in the Townhouse. The restaurant is open seven days a week to residents and we serve bar meals in our bar lounge daily. The restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday evening through to Sunday lunch. The hotel is non-smoking and we have disabled access and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Morgans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel Swansea, Wales
Morgans Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing