We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Morgans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morgans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Myself, my husband and 3 month old baby stayed at this hotel for one night on a five week trip around Britian. We had been staying in pubs and B&Bs during our trip, most of them very good but by the time we got to Swansea it was raining. We were cold and miserable and wanted to splurge on a bit of luxuary!
The girl in reception who checked us in was very friendly and very taken with our 3 month old baby boy. So much so she offered us an upgrade! She mentioned there was a school prom in the main section of the hotel that night and all the noise might be a bit loud for the baby! We really appreciated how thoughtful that was.
A staff member offered to help my husband with our bags from the car to our room which was in a block of rooms away from the main building and helped set up our son's bed.
Our room was divine! With a big comfy bed, fluffy pillows and luxury linens. The marble bathroom had beautiful toiletries and shower with great water pressure. The heated towel racks were a nice touch on such a cold and miserable day!
Breakfast was included in our room rate and was served in the dining room in the main building. The cooked beakfast we ordered off the menu while tea and coffee and cereals were presented in a buffet style. All were delicious.
We found all the staff friendly and very helpful. Highly reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    202
    109
    47
    40
See reviews for
102
352
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
horsham
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I thought the hotel was lovely- great location within easy walking distance of the city, the room in a detached building was well presented and had everything we needed, and the breakfast was superb. Everyone in the hotel was very friendly and very helpful and therefore do not comprehend the comments from boogaloo. Previously stayed in Marriott but this is far better- will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

More Fawlty Towers than nice hotel.Room smelled of cats pee.Staff snobbish and unhelpful.No interest in customers.Over priced and unpleasant.Good location near town.A bit of cleaning and some staff tarining ,especially on reception and it could be a great venues.Nice old features in building

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Boogaloo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a house over the road from main hotel it was lovely and warm clean smelt fresh really comfy four poster bed .....bar area gets a big busy but it was Christmas so to be expected. Really friendly staff breakfast really good lots to choose from

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jog111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We didn't spend the night but we had a special lunch that was first class. The food was tasty and the service excellent. The building, built many years ago, has a wonderful feel and for such a high class hotel the bar prices were no higher than our local. Will call again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just got back after a one night stay at the Morgans, unfortunately we did not manage to have a nights sleep due to the guests in the next room deciding to have an all night "chat" which ended with the male guest threatening the woman he was with, very nice.I'll return to this later.

The hotel is an impressive building from the outside but rather drab when inside, there is no foyer to sit rather just an extention of the bar area which is full in the evening. On arrival I noticed that the seating area in the bar was rather grubby and looked like it had not been cleaned from the day before ( old tissue on the seat and the floor had not been vacuumed). The room was adequate with a large bathroom, the bedside light wasn't working we reported this and action was to be taken.

Returning to the "Clampets"in the next room they were up talking loudly all night which ruined a really good weekend break in Swansea, we reported this to the night porter who did ring the room at about 2.45 am but they did not take any notice.

After talking to the manager we were given a discount on the bill but this did not really compensate for the lost sleep. I understand that the hotel is not directly responsible for whom it lets in but it seems that there are those people who show absolutely no regard for other people's requirements.

The staff I thought were fine and I feel a little sorry for them having to deal with inconsiderate people like those in the next room. We were just unlucky but travellers beware.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pressure52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have stayed here on several occasions and keep meaning to write a review. We stay here as a company as we have a nearby site and we are never disappointed with the impeccable service and beautiful rooms!
Perfect central location and the hotel bar has a lovely atmosphere in the evening aswell.
My favourite room so far is Artisan which is an attic room but as with all the rooms here, it is spacious, tastefully decorated and pristinely clean!
The breakfast is delicious with a great choice and presented nicely on the plate.
The staff are always really attentive, polite! Thank you for all your help!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Hotel

Property: Morgans Hotel
Address: Somerset Place, Swansea SA1 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#5 Business Hotel in Swansea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#8 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans Hotel is located in the heart of the maritime quarter, within walking distance to the city centre of Swansea. The Main Hotel has 20 rooms of accommodation, a bar lounge, restaurant and conference facilities. The Townhouse, situated across a small side road from the main hotel, has an additional 22 bedrooms. Please note that we are unable offer room service in the Townhouse. The restaurant is open seven days a week to residents and we serve bar meals in our bar lounge daily. The restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday evening through to Sunday lunch. The hotel is non-smoking and we have disabled access and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Morgans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel Swansea, Wales
Morgans Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing