We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alexander
Nearby Hotels
$151
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$86
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The White House(Swansea)(Great Value!)
$56
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Morgans Hotel(Swansea)
$203
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Swansea M4(Swansea)(Great Value!)
$53
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel(Swansea)(Great Value!)
$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
133
66
17
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
66
17
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcotton budsfree street parkinglovely fluffy towelsfree internetmain roadsingle roomswansea universityexcellent breakfastcity centretea and coffee facilitiesdefinitely stay here againshort stayfresh fruitcomfortable bedon arrivalstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 232 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a hotel run by people who seem to have thought of everything a guest might need. Greeted by the owner who gave a warm welcome and shown to a lovely room with a real bath, not just a shower. The room (1) was spotlessly clean, warm and the TV was a decent size. The bed was very comfortable. It was also nice and quiet being at the back. There is a guest lounge with bar. there is a fridge and microwave on the landing for guests. Breakfast is great and if you can think of something, it will be available.
I had to park 100 metres away from the hotel as there are parking restrictions in the vicinity due to the junction and shops nearby. This is really the only downside of this super hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back away from the road are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobberdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have stayed a few times now. Really convenient for uplands nightlife and being close to university without being on top of it. As others have said the real draw here are the owners who keep the place spotless and have a real welcoming feel. Nice place - easy decision to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graffhamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel itself was very nice, quite clean and facilities were very good. Breakfast was excellent. However, the bed was a very thin mattress and pretty uncomfortable.......not that I got much sleep, the traffic noise outside was incredible and once I did get off to sleep and was sort of dozing I was startled awake by the noise of sirens right outside the window. The room was right outside the pelican crossing and there seemed to be people talking outside the room for most of the night. I could also hear the very loud tv in the room above me. Sorry to be so negative but when you have a full days work the next day it was really annoying!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Travel1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed for one night 9/9/13 to assist my daughter in her student property selection. Smashing welcome. Room 7 was very compact but spotlessly clean and my "private" bathroom was down a short landing and 2-3 steps but again spotlessly clean. Wonderful breakfast served to start my day with the sausages being a very minor let down in comparison with the quality of the other elements. Greatly recommended and would definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Parking is primarily on surrounding roads but spaces easily found.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_H186459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Jack

I stayed at the Alexander on and off over a 4 month period of working in Swansea. The hospitality throughout was of the very highest order, the rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean.

The friendly welcome I got from my host, on arrival, in the evenings and over breakfast genuinely helped to ease the pain of working away from family by creating a sense of a "home from home". The breakfasts - porridge, best scrambled egg ever etc. are fantastic and nothing seems to be too much trouble (my host stored my bicycle in his shed and was willing to get it out, and take it back, and get it out again and again - a terrific favour when there is Swansea Bay to cycle around just down the road. Great local Thai Restaurant, Japanese and Chippie, as well as Tesco and Sainsbury express, means supper and lunch is easily catered for too.

Don't bother "shopping around", if you can get a reservation, stay here!

Room Tip: Their all good, but you need to choose between, smaller and quieter with a sea view, and (only slightly) noisier, street facing but bigger!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews