We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Gower Kitchen - CLOSED

The Gower Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Gower Kitchen began its renovation in December 2011; it was in a sorry state as it had been left empty and unloved for a few years, it was last operated as an Indian restaurant. The building is listed and has a feature curved window frontage, original tiles and beautiful stained glass panels, all of which have been brought back to life by the GK boys, Stuart and Chris. Near complete renovation was needed, from stripping the walls to replacing the floorboards, much love and dedication has been spent on bringing 39 Uplands Crescent back to its former glory. The Gower Kitchen's interior is inspired by 'retro' and is a mix of reclaimed chairs, tables, floorboards and lampshades and vintage inspired wallpapers, prints and materials. The relaxed image goes hand in hand with the chilled out atmosphere at The Gower Kitchen where the aim to serve tasty food in a nice environment.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I visited here whilst away with work, the service was very good and the food was great. Menu a bit limited but what I had was lovely, pear in wine with Stilton to start and the braised pork belly for my main, coffee to finish & a pint of guiness all came to £26. Not the cheapest but well worth it. Highly recommend

1  Thank Squawking44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 340 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Nice enough, but really rather expensive. Went on a Sunday, when we were presented with the set menu. At £12.95 for one course, we thought that this was asking too much. When we asked whether there were any alternative menus we were given their normal menu, and told that we could choose from the brunch or sandwich sections (which was good of them, as we had now passed the latest serving time for these items). The food itself was nice - both of us enjoyed it, but both agreed that we wouldn't be going again, as it was far too expensive: we paid £18 for 2 sandwiches and a couple of drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Rheiddiadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegowerkitchen, Owner at The Gower Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thankyou Rheiddiadur for taking the time to review our resturant. I'm pleased to hear we made the effort to accomadate you by offering an alternative menu and serving you after our service hours. I'm also glad you enjoyed your food. Our food is not the cheapest because we use good quality ingredients and make everything from scratch. Our Sunday menu is 1 course £12.95, 2 course £14.95 and 3 course £17.95 which I believe is very resonable for the food we serve which includes roast beef sirloin with all the trimmings. Our sandwiches are £4.50. If you thought that was too expensive I suggest that you shouldn't have ordered it and found somewhere better suited to your budget. If your back in the area there is a bakery around the corner which does an excellent chicken and mushroom pasty for roughly £1.40.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

wnen there last night with family. good quality food with a fair priced selection of Beers & Wines.
The burgers are homemade and i loved the fact you could order med-rare ...so the EU thought police and insurance co's not got to Swansea yet.
Pleasant service & a good atmosphere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food, presented in a unique way and served by friendly and helpful staff. Great setting and atmosphere also.
Recommend the cocktails too.

Thank Eddddddddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I enjoyed the home made beef burger which was delicious and came with salad and chips, Good wine and the best coconut and pineapple cheesecake ever superb .There were four of us on the table and we had a great night and the food,wine and service were fantastic for us worth a 30min drive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SwanseaTaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gower Kitchen also viewed

 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing