We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awful”
Review of La Parrilla

La Parrilla
Ranked #314 of 662 Restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Awful”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I think most of the reviews sum this place up pretty well. Awful service from possibly the worst staff I have encountered in a while. Once you've queued to choose your food from a counter (when you choose a piece of meat you are told it may get lost on the stove, what is the point of getting up then??) food and drinks are literally slammed down in front of you about 10 minutes later.
So I chose the fillet steak and some sauted potatoes. The food was so salty it was disgusting. At least if they offered you a bit of veg on the side it may help to lessen the saltiness and give you the pretense that you are eating in a decent restaurant.
I think the main problem with this place is that it is so far up it's own backside and is pretty busy all year round that it has become complacent beyond belief. If the owner's are proud of that establishment and think it is something to be admired they should be embarrassed. If I hadn't wanted to spoil the mood amongst the people I was with I would have refused to pay for any of my food or service.
Nobody cares about you, it's just a case of well we've given you food and drink so let's have your money so some other chump can sit in your seat.
Honestly never been so angry about parting with my money at the end of my meal.
It's pretty obvious from the lack of responses to any of the complaints below that management doesn't care about this place and one must presume that the only objective in mind is profit with any ideas of customer satisfaction etc well and truly pushed to the side.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lewis1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    62
    55
    43
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Table booked for 9pm yet it wasn't ready until closer to 10pm . On going up to place food order the fish counter was more or less empty with very little choice. We were told that they had run out of supplies, ( hard to believe they hadn't ordered enough produce being you had to book in advance, so you would think they had a good idea of how many sittings there would be)
Party of 8 people starters arrived and everything was fine, then there was a long wait for our main courses which weren't served until 11.15pm. Rather late when you are expecting to sit at your table at 9pm as booked.
Two of the main course which were venison at just under £20 each had to be returned as the venison was of such poor quality and full of fat and gristle which we refused to pay for and the staff kindly agreed. A portion of sauté potatoes never arrived and the chips looked likely had been previously cooked and re- dipped in fat for further cooking and were rather brown and very crispy . Some of the chips were so hard you couldn't even put your fork into them and had to be eaten by hand.
We pointed this out to the staff to be told the chips hadn't been re- cooked but it was that time of year when there was a lot of starch in the potatoes! To this I asked what a potatoes they had used the waiter went to check in the kitchen and returned with a dish of uncooked potatoes saying the bags just said Selected Potatoes. Theses potatoes were soft and sponge like to touch and appeared to have gone to seed!!
The best thing about the evening was the entertainment where there were 2 different female singers who were absolutely great
This restaurant as it's sister restaurant La Braseria have definitely dropped in standards over the years in both quality of food and service. WILL NOT BE RETURNING.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kas3763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWANSEA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Needs a shake-up”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here many times but still to have a really good lunch. This time it was in the pre-Xmas period. A solitary barman was left completely unsupported, trying desperately to cope with crowds at the bar and also requests from the waiters. Nobody could have coped. Where was the manager - certainly not evident!

The food, as always, was little more than satisfactory. The basic add-ons soon escalate the advertised price.

The situation and internal decor are attractive. The restaurant is usually busy and I suppose the owners are content to coast along, simply milking the profits. It could be much better and I would like to see it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SKETTYTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“la pretentious!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

First and last time visitor. This place is without doubt the most pretentious restaurant i have ever been in.

The towie description in a previous review is very apt.

You queue up to order your food,apparently menus are off the menu so to speak. So the longer you're in the queue the longer you get to choose what you'd like to pay through the nose for. Its especially nice when theres no-one in the queue and 3 tables come behind you and you have two choices. Choose NOW or let the 12 people behind you squeeze past.

The food was decent enough,fresh,well cooked and so it should be at the silly prices on the a la carte menu.

Just a horrid way to spend an evening at a restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rarebit37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“lush food”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Lush food, BUT very expensive not somewhere you could go every week unless you earn good coin. iv been here about 5 times with my partner. Never had a bad meal. Drinks are WAY over priced, so I recommend water.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaelacarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parrilla also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to La Parrilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing