We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Chef Bad Chef or What ?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross Keys

The Cross Keys
Ranked #189 of 640 Restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Chef Bad Chef or What ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Cross Keys can be a make or break experience and recently its service seriously seems to be dropping standards .
We got used to waiting half an hour for our meal to arrive which is ok if you have a pint in your hand as you no longer need to sit at the table like a spare part in sympathy of the poor service and when the meal arrives you will either love it or hate it but is it value for money ?
Yes if you don't order breakfast as it is very poor in our opinion : burnt hash brown dried up bacon and rather dissapointly what obviously appeared to be tasteless T*sco everyday value sausages ? Whats all that about for £5.75 each ? Definately not the standard you would expect from a menu that boasts its meat is supplied from a local butcher ? The famous mega keys burger is a challenge but can be an overcooked misery if the burgers turn out to be bullet proof coated . The two meals for £9 is ok if you pick steak or fish but your dried up chips will be less and as always you will be seriously out of pocket by the time you paid for your drinks a second time round .
The Chef has left the building ~ Bon Appitite indeed !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Raymondoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    54
    26
    16
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Does not allow Children and had a racist staff member”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Went with family some time back, which included a toddler and my african sister in law. Firstly they would not let the toddler in as they dont allow children (which should be displayed) and then the staff made a racist remark about my sister in law.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank pyrettablaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“m&m”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely carvery & dessert yesterday. Meat , veg and proper gravy, all hot. Apple tart and custard to finished. STUFFED. Well done to the staff again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sundae”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The Sundae is not supposed to be just ice cream.
Disappointed. Burgers taste burnt also.............................

Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dodgy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Cross Keys was always one of my faves for food and drink but yest afternoon my 21yr old daughter went there with her friends. They all ordered mains and desserts, mains came which they ate but then only two desserts. My daughter went to bar to enquire and they said they hadn't paid fkr desserts when they definitely had. Conviently the young man who had served them had left. My daughter and her friend were made to feel like they were lying and trying to do the cross Keys out of a £3 dessert! After some time my daughter left over £3 down having not being given dessert she had paid for. I feel i had to write this review to let people know because the same thing happened at cross keys recently to someone I work with.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kebabdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross Keys also viewed

Swansea County, South Wales
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing