We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch”

The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar
Ranked #295 of 687 Restaurants in Swansea
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: European, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Awarded an AA rosette for freshly prepared locally sourced cuisine and superb service in chic, stylish surroundings, The Dragon Brasserie is the perfect place to eat and drink in Swansea City Centre.Open daily from 10:00am – 9:30pm, Monday to Thursday, 10:00am – 10:00pm Friday and Saturday and 6:00pm – 9:30pm on Sunday, we offer excellent value lunch and dinner menus and serve a variety of coffee, snacks and light fare throughout the day. To compliment any meal we have an extensive selection of wines, many available by the glass.Our sumptuous Sunday Lunch Carvery is available from 12:30 – 2:30pm in the Piano Bar & Restaurant on the first floor.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Had lunch here last Tuesday after our sons graduation. The food was of a good standard and good value. Service was good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SSJMUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts, we're glad to have played a part in such a special occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 140 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

Having visited several times before we popped in for lunch yesterday. What can I say? It was DELICIOUS. We both had the same main course, confit duck with ratatouille & roasted new potatoes. Superb. Dessert was for me a Trio of chocolate, possibly the best chocolate tart I have ever tasted. My companion had cheese & biscuits with, I think, 4 different cheeses & every scrap was demolished. Super service although it was a quiet day. Must go back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lolajacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for your review - you're making me hungry just reading it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went on consecutive nights to the brasserie which in itself says something is going right!

Its a large airy modern space attached to the dragon hotel with an open kitchen and a bar. Truth be told it is a little lacking in atmosphere but its a pleasant space and at least not hot or at all claustrophobic!

You don't need to book and even at its busiest it doesn't seem to get half full

Staff is friendly and helpful but minimal - at busy times with 2 on the floor and 2 in the kitchen, service will really slow down (25 mins between end of starter and main on the (2nd evening).

We were there on world cup final day and staff told us lots of staff in the hotel had thrown sickies and they were absolutely run off their feet as they do room service orders too!

The menu is not huge but the choice is good. There's a table d'hote menu at £19.95 for 2 courses and £24.95 for 3. Given the well stocked bar there's a good choice of wines and drinks too - we had a bottle of cold crisp pinot grigio

For starters on the 1st night my husband had excellent, light home made mackerel pate and chutney and I had toasted halloumi with orange segments and delicate leaves

On the 2nd night I had the goats cheese and beetroot risotto which was stunning (a lot for a starter tho!) And my husband had the ultimate comfort food - carrot and curry soup which smelt awesome.

I had the same main each evening as I have a gluten allergy and it was the safest option. It was pan fried hake on crushed potatoes with a tomato salsa and was slighty better the 2nd time as the fish was a little dry on the 1st evening, well nigh perfect the 2nd. The potatoes were delicious both times

My husband also had the same main twice - but just because it was so delicious - roast chicken with black pudding and baby onions and roast potatoes in a red wine jus.he even sneakily mopped up with a little bread

We had no room for desserts but I'm sure judging by what we had they would be excellent too!

Given the quality of the food the prices are reasonable; a table d'hote 2 course with a bottle of wine came to £58 and seemed very good value, especially as this is a brasserie attached to a hotel and that means in so many similar places prices are needlessly hiked

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to understand that reduced staffing levels did not hamper your enjoyment even with the slightly slower service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great service and a varied interesting menu. The service was also excellent. Attentive but well paced. Good selection on the wine list too

Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The décor was very nice, clean and modern. The waiter was charming and reminded us of Dec ( Ant and Dec fame). Nothing was too much trouble and he made the whole experience unforgetable. The food was delicious and even though the restaurant was full we didn't have to wait too long for our lovely food to arrive. Will definitely return.

Thank SwanseaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience, we're very pleased to have played our part in your Valentine celebrations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar also viewed

Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing