We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Oasis of calm”
Review of No Sign Wine Bar

No Sign Wine Bar
Ranked #48 of 662 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The oldest pub in Swansea.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Oasis of calm”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our favourite place in Swansea- this is one of the oldest taverns in the area and boasts a traditional look with a modern approach. The welcome is always good and the staff have an excellent knowledge of the available wines and spirits. I had a great evening sampling the Welsh 'whiskies' with their help....The food is excellent particularly the bacon,cockle and lavabread (a local specialitiy) fetucini.
The live bands in the Vault are amazing usually local talent.
In the wild part of Swansea-Wind Street- this truly is an Oasis.
Love it

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    87
    16
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good lunch time pub”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have been to the no sign on many occasions and its stiill one of my fav pubs in swansea, cosy layed back and full of character. good service good food good atmosphere, love it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A great place for grown ups!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Having a couple of hours to kill before going out for dinner with university colleagues, one of our number recommend this venue. It was freezing cold & raining & the wine bar is, as others have said cosy & inviting. We passed the time very pleasantly, nice decor, friendly bar staff & best of all no inbetweeners, hen or stag groups (which seem to litter Wind Street). No loud music, or excessively inebriated folk - another common feature of Wind Street. We didnt eat here but the menu and food looked good and we will make a point of giving it a try next term.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went to the No sign for works Christmas dinner. Turned up at 1pm and party organiser informed the booking had been cancelled the day before???!!! When they realised the 'cancellation' had nothing to do with the organiser, they started franticly laying up the required tables and were still able to fit us in, which was good.
The food however was not so good, two goats cheese balls appeared, before a significantly under seasoned and rather dry spinach and mushroom tagliatele came and went, followed by a choc torte with dry, rubber macaroon!
Service was good and waitress was attentive - some others in the party did enjoy their meals, but overall fell well short of what I was hoping for. No sign 'of me again' wine bar. #fail

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adamemmawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Casual, cool and cosy.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stumbled upon the No Sign after a bit of pre-lunch shopping. We took a chance on the place despite having no clue about what to expect. From the outside, the customers looked well cosy, which was a very good sign. As a visitor, I wasnt sure what the best choice for a brew was, but the pleasant girl behind the bar happily offered a suggestion that was indeed ideal for the wintertime. We ordered their homemade burger and fries, and within a matter of minutes, it was served - tender, succulent, and delicious. My daytime visit was enough encouragement to head to the No Sign at night for a bit of tipple.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Sign Wine Bar also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to No Sign Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing