We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good curry, awful atmosphere and questionable service”
Review of Fire and Ice - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fire and Ice
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good curry, awful atmosphere and questionable service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our evening at Ice and Fire was a bit of a mixed bag...

Admittedly it was late on a Saturday night, but the live "music" was an absolute train wreck. The singing was so bad and loud I thought it was a joke at first.

Once we had sat down, the waiter was impatient and a bit rude at times, but with a splash of humor which would have made that aspect vaguely tolerable, had he come back to offer further drinks etc but we were ignored a bit and it was empty.

Positive points were that the curries were excellent and the rice was delicious but the kebab starters were extremely tough and dry.

That said, the decor is quirky and cool, but the restaurant is lit up like Blackpool Illuminations...dimmer switches would be a good idea / mood lighting.

The front bar area has a massive window which makes you feel like you are on display in a goldfish bowl - maybe some frost edging on the windows or some big plants would break it up a bit?

All in all its great value, a nice menu in a good location but needs refinement to avoid becoming run of the mill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robandlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Just like a 100 other places from mumbles-cardiff bay. Though food was half decent, but so it should be. I paid for it. In a wor”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Not bad though i was annoyed at reviews on site as it is just another restaurant. With admittedley a few 'quirks' no sinks in bathroom for one. So the guys do whatever is done in toilets, come to wash hands in huge sink which looks like a cows milking station. So must touch door handles etc. Nice. Also my sister advised me to go but made a joke about watching my change. Jeeeez! Boy was she right. Short changed twice in one evening plus charged incorrectly for meals (price mis calculated). Would i eat there again? If it was free with a drink i bought yes; as the beer was worth the amount charged. Debbie and Kelvin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dandkswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely food and excellent service”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Indian cuisine served in a modern setting. Nice bar with good choice of beer. Ideal for families and groups. Menu was interesting, encourages sharing and tapas-style dining. The staff were prompt and very helpful.

The location was great. We felt the prices were reasonable too. On the whole a very positive experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank coldshield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely looking place, nice tables outside by the water, and lovely inside too. The service was quick and friendly and the food was absolutely fantastic. Only wish we lived closer so we could come back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lcs8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Now known as fire and ice”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Loverly vintage style Indian restaurant, food excellent well presented and tasty, would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pipWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire and Ice also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing