We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Capel Cartref

Exterior of Capel Cartref
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery
Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Kitchen & Dining Area - spacious and well-equipped - Now with a large table!
Gallery - now with comfy sofas - must udpate photo!
Main Bedroom, 1st Floor
Twin Room, 1st Floor
Double Room, 1st Floor
Double Bedroom 1, Ground Floor
Double Bedroom 2, Ground Floor
Main Bedroom (Again), showing Balcony
Main Bathroom, 1st Floor
En-suite Shower Room (off main bedroom)
Ground Floor Wet Room with power shower
Heron in River nearby the chapel's river bank
Henrhyd Falls, Brecon Beacons - come stand behind it and just listen...
Rhossili, Gower Peninsula!  Whatever the weather - it's a MUST!
Brecon Beacons in the Snow - what a day that was!
Rhossili Bay - breathtaking views!
PLEASE HELP US END PUPPY FARMING BY SIGNING THE PETITION
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Swansea, Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarahtayl...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Gorgeous property, lovely and comfortable,clean and warm. Lovely bedrooms and well equipped kitchen - perfect for a group of stressed out mums in a weekend escape - would def recommend it x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2017
Aah, thank you so much for your lovely response. So glad you all managed to get together to destress at the chapel. Thank you for looking after it during your visit. Please come back and stay again soon. Thank you and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rmac1984
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for a family celebration”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

An impressive beautifully converted chapel. The location and scenery is spectacular and this gem allows you to make the most of it! Would highly recommend and hope to return soon!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2017
Thank you very much! I hope you all return soon too, loving the word 'gem'. Glad you got to have a relaxing break. Thank you for looking after the chapel during your stay. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Thank you very much for your prompt and lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Capel Cartref and that you are looking to come back for a third time. Thank you for looking after it so well during your stay. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuart B
1 review
“Amazing, what a weekend!”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

So delighted to have found this gem! A great venue for a friends get together! Facilities were great, home from home! The care, attention and detail in the conversion is sensational! Really hope to visit again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend break and thank you very much for looking after the chapel during your stay. Please come back soon.
Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail R
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation and a brilliant weekend”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Booked a weekend break with Marnie in her beautiful Chapel to celebrate my daughters 40th birthday. There was 10 of us altogether 6 adults and 4 children and the chapel was very spacious and beautifully fitted out. My family loved it and grandchildren didn't want to leave, Marnie was a mine of information and gave us names of restaurants to visit and places to see. New Tredegar Inn approx 10-15 mins away walking was excellent with friendly staff and excellent food. Thank you Marnie we will all definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2017
Wow! Thank you so much for this review - the first of 2017. We are so glad that the chapel worked well for you all and that your daughter managed to have a memorable birthday. I hope she got to see the sights she intended to visit. If not, please come back in the near future. Thank you once again, and thank you for looking after the chapel during your visit. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueB9416A...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Proprty and Excellent stay”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

All the family went for my father's birthday. The property was easy to find from the instructions. We found it warm and welcoming and all the rooms were lovely. It had everything there that you could possibly think of. Had a lovely time and Marnie was in touch throughout the weekend to check we had everything we needed. Will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are glad to know that your father's birthday went well and that you intend to return someday. Thank you so much for caring for the chapel during your stay. Please return soon. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keithmb83
1 review
“Out of this world”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What an amazing place in a breath taking location.
This Chapel had everything and more. Equipped with everything you could ever need to enjoy the home comforts away from home.
The only bad thing was we only stayed for a weekend. The kids loved the space and enjoyed exploring the area. I'd rate this 100 stars if I could.

Thank you so much we will be back in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
Wow! A 100 stars would be amazing!!! Thank you very much, you're our 80 review and what a lovely one to wake up to! You are most welcome back in the summer. Thank you so much for looking after the chapel so well during your visit. We are both very glad to know you all had a nice time with family. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing