We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Affordable luxury”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Capel Cartref

Exterior of Capel Cartref
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery
Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Kitchen & Dining Area - spacious and well-equipped - Now with a large table!
Gallery - now with comfy sofas - must udpate photo!
Main Bedroom, 1st Floor
Twin Room, 1st Floor
Double Room, 1st Floor
Double Bedroom 1, Ground Floor
Double Bedroom 2, Ground Floor
Main Bedroom (Again), showing Balcony
Main Bathroom, 1st Floor
En-suite Shower Room (off main bedroom)
Ground Floor Wet Room with power shower
Heron in River nearby the chapel's river bank
Henrhyd Falls, Brecon Beacons - come stand behind it and just listen...
Rhossili, Gower Peninsula!  Whatever the weather - it's a MUST!
Brecon Beacons in the Snow - what a day that was!
Rhossili Bay - breathtaking views!
PLEASE HELP US END PUPPY FARMING BY SIGNING THE PETITION
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Swansea, Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris S
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is such a great holiday let.

Everywhere is furnished immaculately and you can tell that the owner has cared about the smaller details, as there really isn't a thing missing that you could want in this place. There are also a lot of personal touches, making it feel like a home away from home.

There are so many creative uses of this old chapel installed into the building, including a relaxing mezzanine and what seems to what might have been used as a baptismal area, that I used as a stage.

There is so much space inside and out, and plenty for the kids to enjoy. There is a river out back that includes a lovely walk, but be careful with the little ones! The only possible negative I can think of is that there are a few gnats that come out at night time that bite so stay indoors and bring bite cream. and insect repellent.

Property situated right on the edge of the beacons so plenty of walking options and you are really only a hop skip and jump away from the gorgeous gower coast.

Marnie was extremely helpful, patient, friendly and understanding throughout the whole process, including the aftercare (as I very foolishly left an expensive item behind, where she kindly had it courierd for me).

Thanks for such a wonerful stay, it really does deserve the multiple 5 star reviews in receives and I hope to be back someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stage area in the living room
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
Wow! Thank you for that very informative review! Returning your item was no problem, these things happen. Thank you all for looking after the chapel so well and for the feedback regarding the evening gnats! I will pass this on for sure. Glad the area that 'will one day be fire a hearth' makes a good stage - never thought of that one! Do come back sometime soon. Take care and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2014
Hello and thank you for your lovely comments. So glad you found your stay at Capel Cartref tranquil, so many people experience it that way too. Thank you for looking after the chapel during your stay. Please come back in the near future, for more tranquility :-). Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elisa A
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house. Made to feel very welcome.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My family recently visited Capel Cartref for a birthday celebration and we had wonderful time.
The accommodation itself was a beautiful conversion, furnished to a high standard (especially the kitchen - which has everything you might need) and spotlessly clean. It's in a good location with plenty to do in the local area (even when the weather is not great). We were made to feel very welcome and our host's attention to detail was excellent. I would definitely recommend to families and groups.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2014
Hello and thank you for such a positive review. So happy you were all able to enjoy a special birthday celebration at Capel Cartref and very glad you felt welcomed. Thank you, in return, for looking after the chapel during your stay. Glad also that you easily found things to do in the local area, especially with young ones. Thank you once again, please come back sometime in the near future, kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 9, 2014
Hello there, I hope you are safely back home in Belgium. Thank you for your thorough review, it's great to see names of beautiful and interesting places to visit. Thank you also for taking care of the chapel during your stay, I'm glad to hear that it still felt spacious enough, even with the five children. Thank you once again, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sstarburs
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Easter break”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent three nights at the Chapel and had a wonderful time. There were 11 of us but the cottage was still spacious with enough room for everyone to relax. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with a lovely big dining table - perfect for doing a big roast dinner. The lounge area with its double height ceilings is fantastic, and the whole place is extremely well taken care of. It is in a great location for both the Brecons and the beach - we were lucky with the weather and had a fantastic time at Three Cliffs bay and Rhossili Bay. The owner was extremely helpful over email before and during our stay, very happy to answer any questions and extremely accommodating. There is a tesco and Asda nearby which is very handy - we did a big online shop and had it delivered which worked fine. A wonderful stay in a unique cottage.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2014
Hello there. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad you had good enough weather to visit The Gower (Three Cliffs Bay, etc); the views are truly breathtaking. Also pleased that eleven people did not make the chapel feel too crowded, it is larger than it appears on the website for sure. Thank you for looking after Capel Cartref during your visit. Hopefully, you will come back and fill it with your walking friends again soon... Take care and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Historic Venue Setting
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2014
Hi there. Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are so glad you all had a good time at the chapel. Children seem to love it there and we are very glad that your children did too; it's probably a bit of an adventure for them. We are very grateful to have a great location for visiting places such as Brecon and Rhosilli and we are especially grateful to you and your family for looking after Capel Cartref during your stay. Thank you so much, we hope you will one day, come back. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2014
Hello and thank you! A useful review with the recommendations, with regards especially to the local eateries. We are so glad that the chapel is 'up there with the best!' - the local 'hands-on' people deserve the credit for it's upkeep... we are very lucky to have such a team. Thank you for using the hose and for also leaving the chapel in a nice clean state. Please come back sometime soon. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing