We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Capel Cartref

Exterior of Capel Cartref
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery
Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Kitchen & Dining Area - spacious and well-equipped - Now with a large table!
Gallery - now with comfy sofas - must udpate photo!
Main Bedroom, 1st Floor
Twin Room, 1st Floor
Double Room, 1st Floor
Double Bedroom 1, Ground Floor
Double Bedroom 2, Ground Floor
Main Bedroom (Again), showing Balcony
Main Bathroom, 1st Floor
En-suite Shower Room (off main bedroom)
Ground Floor Wet Room with power shower
Heron in River nearby the chapel's river bank
Henrhyd Falls, Brecon Beacons - come stand behind it and just listen...
Rhossili, Gower Peninsula!  Whatever the weather - it's a MUST!
Brecon Beacons in the Snow - what a day that was!
Rhossili Bay - breathtaking views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Swansea, Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
818Zoe
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at the capel for a friends 50th birthday. The capel was clean, well equipped, gorgeous inside we could not have asked for a better place to celebrate our friends 50th birthday. The card and the cava left by the owners was a beautiful touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2014
Hello and thank you! We are very happy to have been able to accommodate you all comfortably and that your friend celebrated his special birthday within our chapel walls. We are also grateful to you for respecting Capel Cartref during your stay, it means a lot to us when people respect the property - which you obviously did. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 2, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for such positive feedback. Thank you also for looking after the chapel so well. Please, come back! We are chuffed that you chose Capel Cartref and that your friends and family were happy with your choice. Thank you and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DianeKaty
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed as a family of 8 adults and 2 babies. What a fantastic property! Everything is as described by the other reviewers - huge, clean, welcoming, beautifully appointed and definitely somewhere we will stay again. Everything to make it a very comfortable home from home has been thought about - don't look at any other properties - book this

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for your fabulous comments. We are so glad you managed to have a family 'get together' and that you found it a 'home from home'. Also VERY glad that you intend to return to Capel Cartref in the future. Take care, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlewick green
Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy that your birthday celebration was a positive one. Thank you also for looking after the chapel during your visit. We would gladly welcome you back! Take care and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Could not pick one thing in particular as this property was just fantastic all round. Amazing !property and location. Great for families
Liked least: The weather.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It makes it even more of a pleasure when people are so appreciative. Thank you so much for respecting the chapel and for taking such care of it during your stay. Please do return very soon. Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elenipeni
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, spacious, comfortable with a little birthday treat!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had a lovely time staying in Capel Cartref.
The place is huge, clean and welcoming. All of the rooms were a decent size and were exceptionally clean. Marnie made me feel really special by leaving a birthday card and a bottle of wine as it was my 33rd.. .. a nice touch! Plus a Christmas tree was put put up which made the place feel really cosy and festive.
Not much to do in the immediate area but a short drive will take you to Dan yr Ogof caves, wonderful pubs, some great walks and waterfalls, plus riding stables.
And if you're feeling lazy there is a decent sized dvd library for duvet days!
Such a great place to spend my birthday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The beautiful master bedroom with its en suite and balcony.
Liked least: imeadiate area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2014
Hi there, thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your birthday and that being at Capel Cartref helped make it a little more special. We are sorry you didn't get to experience the walks that are immediately accessible from the chapel, but, as you mention, there are beautiful places to visit just a short drive away. We are pleased that you found the chapel to be 'huge, clean and welcoming', I will ensure your compliments get passed onto Gail and Vanessa. Thank you once again, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTJenning...
NAAS
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Capel Cartref is the most amazing accommodation I have ever stayed in. I travelled with my little 3 year old boy, husband and my family for a surprise Christmas treat for my brother Ronan. As it turned out everybody had a surprise at how wonderful the chapel was. The bedrooms are a great size, the kitchen is unbelievable and the huge table meant we really had a Christmas feast with our extended Welsh, English and Irish family! It seats eight but there was also loads of space at the breakfast bar.

Even on the wettest day the kids had no cabin fever and we all just relaxed and enjoyed being in the chapel and with each other. The garden is enclosed and safe for children. Everything is clean, clean, clean too! The neighbours are lovely people so helpful and friendly and everybody in the area was so friendly. It is a great location for touring around as well so if you want space away from it all but within driving distance of attractions this is the place to be.

Marni is a wonderful lady and we all felt we had met her in person as she kept in touch regularly via email but not intrusively. It is obvious from the chapel that she cares deeply for her guests experience and I and the other guests could find no fault with anything. Vanessa and Gail keep the chapel in tip top order and it was spotless. We all had the best Christmas ever and cannot recommend the chapel highly enough if there were ten stars I would give them without hesitation. It was a pleasure to stay in the chapel for 10 Days just wish it could have been more. In fact my 6 year old nephew wanted to speak to Marnie about making it his permanent home!

A million thanks Marnie for everything and a hope you and your family have a wonderful 2014.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2014
Hello there, thank you so much for such an informative review. Thank you also for mentioning Gail and Vanessa as they really are the unsung heroes! We were so looking forward to you arriving at the chapel as it seemed such a long time coming since you initially made the booking. It is great that you had an enjoyable Xmas and that nobody got cabin fever! We would also like to thank you for looking after the chapel during your stay. If you every want to revisit Capel Cartref, please do not hesitate to contact us. Have a great 2014! Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$230
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing