We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious long weekend in the 'Shed' barn!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tir-Cethin Farm Luxury Barn Holidays
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The shed and dairy barns are simply superb, luxury barns that offer a wonderful, relaxing break. We stayed with friends and were hugely impressed with the evolution of the barns in their renovation from their original roles. The pictures on the landing of Paul working on the buildings are a testament to a concern for quality and a design for bespoke buildings which are both enchanting and highly functional. The shed barn was beautiful in it's lay-out, both upstairs and downstairs. The outdoor patios and views will be great for summer barbecues and chilling out watching the evening sun drop behind the gentle countryside that stretches to the sea. We will be returning soon to enjoy the barn, the wonderful hospitality of Paul and his wife, and the ease of access that the barn offers to explore the beauty of the Gower.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but the two rooms with the king-size beds offer a wonderful night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

From the moment we arrived for our weekend break over New Year we felt at home. We had a personal welcome from the owners and their lovely family and they showed us to our barn - Y Beudy. It was warm, clean and homely. We had a welcome pack that covered all our questions but Paul said he could help us with anything not covered!

We unpacked, lit the fire and instantly relaxed. Every cooking utensil we needed was there for us to cook and then to clean up.

Beds and linen were better than we have at home! Everyone slept well.

Everything we needed was on the doorstep - shops, local pub and a choice of walks. The weather didn't effect us and the barns were geared up for all weather with games, music and films all available to us.

We will be booking a return visit in the summer so we can soak up more stunning views and use the BBQ on the patio!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hud75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Clearly a lot of thought has gone into the tasteful and sympathetic conversion of these barns. The accomodation would suit all sorts of groups. I visited with a group of friends however I filed the barns away in my memory for a future visit. As it is possible for two families/extended family to be accomodated. The living rooms open via gate fold doors onto a patio for communal BBQs etc but you would still have you own barn to retreat to!
There are animals hens, goat etc which would delight any children and so much space for adults and children alike
Loved the little touches -under floor heating, fluffy towels nice handsoap and the dishwasher :o)

One hint - make sure you get directions from the very helpful owners on booking as we got a little lost. Sat nav was no help!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JJ2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here overnight at the end of August. The accomodation was superb. Family living room and a superbly appointed kitchen make entertaining easy. The bedrooms were luxurious and the two bathroom / shower rooms meant easy early morning and nighttime routines. Cant wait to return later this year.

Room Tip: Either Barn conversion offers superb quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusyBee295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I've been a regular visitor to the Gower since I was a little girl and have stayed in various places from tents to guest houses to five star hotels. Tir-Cethin Farm is by far the best yet!! We were given a really lovely welcome when we arrived that it set us up for a great weekend. The barns are finished to such a high standard I would definitely class it as luxury accommodation – yet with a home from home vibe that was perfect for our trip. The downstairs area of the barn we stayed in had plenty of room for our family plus some friends who came to visit us from nearby Swansea. There was also plenty of outdoor space, even to pitch a tent (which we did to get rid of the kids in the evening!) and the views were stunning. We loved it so much we are hoping to have a return visit at Christmas time as it had such a cosy feeling we want to have an excuse to get the fire burning. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PianoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

A very warm welcome was received on arrival. The barns are beautifully presented and the beds are just the most comfortable ever.
On a crazy trip round all parts, this place was such a peaceful oasis we considered staying longer. If only we could!
We'll be back next time we travel over from Australia!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
0 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea North Hotel
0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
825 reviews
0 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
143 reviews
0 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tir-Cethin Farm Luxury Barn Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir-Cethin Farm Luxury Barn Holidays

Address: Tir-Cethin Farm | Three Crosses, Swansea SA4 3NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Hotel Class:5 star — Tir-Cethin Farm Luxury Barn Holidays 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tir-Cethin is one of Wales newest 5 star holiday destinations. We have used the latest technology to make your stay as environmentally sustainable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tir-Cethin Farm Luxury Barn Holidays Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing