We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to go”
Review of Chiquito - Swansea - CLOSED

Chiquito - Swansea
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 'South of the border' passion is always served up at Chiquito. A menu of bold Mexican and Tex-Mex cuisine is prepared however the diner likes it. Burritos, sizzling fajitas and tacos can all be customised for vegetarians or those wanting more spice. A kids menu, games and entertainment add to the family-friendly vibe, and there is a great range of exciting cocktails, mocktails, wines and tequilas.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to go”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I had walked past this restaurant lots of times and something always put us off, not sure what but last week we decided to give it a go. From the moment we went in we really liked the atmosphere there. We were shown to a table at the back and our waiter went through the entire menu with us as we had never been there before. He really knew what he was talking about and was able to recommend certain things that he liked himself. When the food came there was plenty of it and it was really tasty. I had chicken and it was cooked to perfection, really tender and moist. Oh I almost forgot, while you are deciding what to eat they give you free nachos and dip :) There was soft background music on and the menu had little interesting facts about mexico & mexican food on it. For us, it's little things like these that make it the best place we've eaten in swansea for a long time. We both had one course each and shared a bottle of wine which came to £40 so it isn't massively expensive at all. We keep going back there whenever we want to go our for food so I can't really say more than that in way of a recommendation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    51
    26
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great value for a family of 4 especially with the children eating for free! The staff were really helpful and accomodating, the children were kept entertained and we were able to enjoy a quiet drink and some nice food. It was also nice to see such a great choice of food for the children rather than the usual chips or chips! If only we had one local to us we would go more often!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lichfieldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Saved by the manager”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were sat at our table on a fairly busy but not packed early Saturday night and waited and waited and waited. We watched various staff clean tables, take orders and studiously avoid our attempts the catch their eyes. Eventually it became clear it was either seek help or walk out. I chose the former and went over to a person who worked there but was not in uniform who turned out to be the manager. He apologised immediately came over to our table, took the order and delivered the drinks in double quick time. He also served our food in the same speedy and friendly manner. The food was basic Mexican stuff but you don't go to Chiquito to experience quality authentic Mexican food. The burrito I ordered was reasonable enough and my partner's quesadilla was ok. The youngsters' burgers and steak were also pretty reasonable. Being a family group of five the atmosphere was lively and informal - ideal for the occasion.
Well done to Nathan, the manager who saved the day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huw A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

10 of us went here last saturday night and all had free starters as had a coupon, excellent service and food was plenyfull like the selection, my two year daughter loves the nachos and salsa that are free when you sit down at the table

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

My friend celebrated her 21st here and the food was great. I recommend the chilli con Carne. Delicious :)
It was pretty expensive for a small dish though £9.15 approx, the atmosphere was warming too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigMroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquito - Swansea also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing