We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude staff and awful service.”
Review of Weaver's TeaRoom - CLOSED

Weaver's TeaRoom
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An Art Deco style Tearoom offering afternoon Teas, Cream teas, home made cakes light lunches etc
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I visited weavers with a group of friends, after it was recommended by my mum. I'm sorry to say that I shall never return again and will be telling friends to avoid at all costs! The service was appalling we were spoken down to by the male staff member who seemed put out by us being there. While the female staff member kept trying to explain that it would be difficult for her to make afternoon teas if others wanted "normal food" the atmosphere was tense and stressful and it was a relief to leave. They were unprepared to cater for a group of people while serving everyday customers very unprofessional. A shame really as I think the idea has potential.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hailey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Weaver's TeaRoom
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 41 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is my 9 year old boys favourite eating place. We went today, just the two of us, and shared an afternoon tea with an extra sandwich. It was absolutely lovely, sandwiches, huge warm scone with jam and proper clotted cream, chocolate cake, Victoria sponge and a cupcake (all home made). There was too much for us even though we were sharing it so the lady kindly wrapped up some of the cake for us so we could bring it home. We will definitely be back for another treat at this lovely tearoom.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Where to start! We visited the tea room as a group of around 15. We phoned ahead as a courtesy the day before to say a large group with babies would be coming the following day. We were greeted buy the male owner with a frown and "oh you have prams. They have prams!" (Even tho we had said babies would be coming). It took a long explanation to a very stressed out lady that we wanted a mixture of afternoon teas and regular lunch items. we were told that if wed seen the size of the kitchen and understood she was the only cook that it was completely unreasonable to expect to eat together and that we would have to wait, which we said was fine. The owners assumed that because we had phoned ahead that we had booked afternoon tea, this was never the case when we phoned. We were then told off because we all didnt want afternoon teas even though they had bought the stock especially for it. We were then told by a very stressed out lady that she had already made up 6 afternoons tea that- even though the website states that we should have had a choice of sandwices. Because of how stressed out and annoyed the owners were that we didnt want afternoon teas we reluctantly accepted the 6 already made up. What we expected (as per the menu) was 6 three tier cake stands with sandwiches, cakes, scones and a pot of tea. What we received however was 3 cake stands with apparantly 2 peoples worth of food on. What a dissapointment. We had no choice of sandwich but a tiny selection of sorry looking triangles, and cakes that looked like they had been taken from a packet and stuffed on the plate. No elegance, nothing pretty looking or appetising. The worst part was that we only had 6 HALF portions of afternoon tea but were still expected to pay £10 per half a cake stand. What a rip off! The lady then said with attitude "so youre going to have 6 afternoon teas between 15" to which the man shouted "ha! Never gonna happen!" The man then got extremely flustered when he found out we all didnt want tea to drink. He needed an explanation of how to give a cup of boiled water and gave someone a dirty look when they only order a glass of water. He suggested to us it would be easier for him if we all just had tea!!! Throughout our time there the man would mutter under his breath at us and made us feel like a massive burden to them. We were the only people in the cafe the whole time. When the afternoon teas had come out the rest of us went up to order lunch only to be met with "oh you want to order food now then do you?". I wish Id walked out right at the beginning. You could tell that the lady was nice and tried to be helpful but just got stressed out, the man however was rude and a disgrace!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dissapointed201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place about 16:45 we were looking at the ice cream menu in the window, when we were told by the male member of staff that "we would get an Ice cream if we were quick" I went inside and couldn't of asked for better service from the lady behind the counter, my sister stayed outside and asked the male staff member if it was ok to sit outside and he was very rude an abrupt and basically told us they were closed and couldn't sit there.
Overall we enjoyed our ice creams but with an attitude like that I'm surprised it's not driving custom away.

1  Thank Onlythebest89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cometman88, Owner at Weaver's TeaRoom, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

I am glad you noted the time of your visit which was in fact 45 minutes after we had closed. However... you was then still allowed in to purchase a take away ice cream.(take away!)Great ...in you came. So then imagine our dis belief that you then wanted to sit on the chairs outside the tea room.Furniture which was quite obviously in the processes of being packed away at the end of a busy day.I am afraid the attitude here from the 'male worker'would be the same anywhere else 45 minutes after closing.People have opening and closing times for a reason... to avoid these types of pointless 'non reviews'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our group ( Pauline, Cheryl, Sally, Rob,Huw, Amanda and Tracy) met on a wet Wednesday. What a lovely time was had by all. Massive servings of sandwiches, cakes and a huge scone with real clotted cream ( none of your squirty nonsense for us). Our esteemed friend Mayor Parry of Glynneath provided wine and was presented with a Swansea University tie as by way of congratulations. A little lady called Reilly-May had her own plate of goodies which made her 'full up'. The owners of the tea room made us feel very welcome as we took our seats beside Gloria and Lulu, two mannequins dressed as flappers. They listened to everything but said nothing ....

Would definately go again!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weaver's TeaRoom also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing