We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the journey!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Uplands Diner

Uplands Diner
Ranked #79 of 643 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast Food, British, Diner, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Uplands Diner home of the famous -Beast or Mega Beast BreakfastsSituated in the heart of Uplands in SwanseaWe are able to cater for all walks of life from students to Bank managers from OAP,S to Premier League football playersWe have 25 staff in total and we have seating capacity for 160 poepleWe serve 19 different breakfasts Daily Roasts,Pies,curries Pasta and Halal and the list goes on all eggs served are Free Range we also serve Semi and Skimmed and Soya milkOur Sugar and Coffee is Fare Trade
Accrington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We heard about this Diner when listenening to a Radio 2 Broadcast, and it sounded so good we had to go, even though we live in Lancashire! We had been on a touring holiday of West Wales and decided to detour into Swansea ( a long way ). But the staff were friendly and efficient, even though it was very busy, and the food was superb. It was incredibly good value, and we would recommend this to anyone who is in the area. Len and Jean South, Accrington

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean5546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UplandsDiner, General Manager at Uplands Diner, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    81
    28
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
130 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Diner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I used to be a student at Swansea Uni, and recently went back on a trip, so I thought I'd better make a vist to UD's a must.
As always the food was great and was really good to see they have added some new items as well. The pulled pork sub was immense!
This place is great for massive portions, if you want them, plus all of your standard diner fare. The place itself is always busy at the weekends but you generally get seated very quickly because they do have a lot of tables and turn them around very efficiently without rushing anyone out.
Two words - Get involved!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UplandsDiner, General Manager at Uplands Diner, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments hope to see you again real soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
120 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“What a meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and my mate had the mixed grill each was huge and had a gravy jug of pepper sauce. Plenty of meat only down fall was steak wasn't really warm but it was Deffo value for money. Staff seemed really pleasant fast service constantly cleaning. Good drink as much as you can deal on pop too so overall for first time visit happy with t hope steak wil be warm next time tho

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gregwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UplandsDiner, Owner at Uplands Diner, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Glad you enjoy your first visit to the diner sorry to hear your steak was not as hot as you would have liked it
did you bring it to a waiter or waitress attention?they would have got it changed for you or put back on the grill i am really sorry
Hope to see you real soon
glad you enjoyed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Man v. Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place caters for all tastes and all capacities, from the gut busting Mega beast to the slightly more modest eggs benedict and virtually anything in between, including veggie options.

I went late Sunday morning with some friends and although the place was heaving we still managed to get a table immediately.
We all had the manageable Uplands Special costing £4.85
Consisting of 2 Bacon, 1 Sausage, 1 Egg, Beans, Tomatoes, 1 Hash Brown, Mushrooms, 1 Toast, it also includes a drink.

For anyone with worms, the appetite of a hippopotamus
or Adam Richman (Man V. Food) I would recommend
The Mega Beast £9.95
10 Bacon, 5 Eggs, 8 Sausages, Chips, 2 Hash Browns,
Bubble & Squeak, Mushrooms, Tomatoes, Beans,
2 Black Pudding, 4 Toast, 4 Bread & Butter,
4 Fried Bread and 1 Small Burger.

Full Menu here
http://uplandsdiner.co.uk/Artwork/Uplands%20Diner%20Online%20Menu.pdf

My “Uplands Special” was excellent and we all left feeling full and satisfied.

If you are hungry in Swansea, this could be the place for you. I will go again, probably when Fulham play at Swansea next season. As an aside, I found the people of Swansea, very friendly even to a bunch of Fulham supporter who’s team had beaten them by 3 goals, in a pretty undeserved win.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I go there a lot after a nightshift and can say their jumbo breakfast is just what the doctor ordered... even my partner's 80 year old mum eats there... highly recommend....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UplandsDiner, Owner at Uplands Diner, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind review
we do like all feed back good or not
ones again thanks very much hope to see you again real soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uplands Diner also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Uplands Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing