We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, helpful and great cooking :)”
Review of Brynawel Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brynawel Farm
Ranked #4 of 39 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“friendly, helpful and great cooking :)”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The guesthouse is well appointed - it's an original farmhouse building with up to date furnishings so it has a lovely homely feel to it with lots of space but isn't old or dated, everything works just fine! It is set in a very peaceful countryside area, and the couple who run it couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. My wife and I stayed here for one night the week before last when we visited my family in Swansea. We had a 4 hour drive after work to get there and didn't arrive til around half 11 but Martin came out, opened the gate for us and helped us in with our bags, he was so kind. Clean and spacious room, big bathroom with power shower and really comfy bed. The breakfast was perfectly cooked with really high standard ingredients - lovely thick cut bacon and big sausages from the local butcher, choice of eggs between chicken or duck (much larger !), and Christine was really attentive. They are both great at making you feel at home. The dining table is set just before the doors opening out onto the garden which is beautiful - lovely view whilst having breakfast if you are sat facing the garden. You can walk around or sit out in the garden, there's a lake with different types of fish, you can go and see the hens and ducks that the eggs come from if you like! The farmhouse is on top of a hill overlooking the valleys and the village below so very quiet with great views. We are visiting family again pretty soon so will be coming back here for sure :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine l, Owner at Brynawel Farm, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
So glad you enjoyed both the stay and the cooking! lol hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
49
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a warm welcome we received at Brynawel Farm. Christine and Martin are friendly , welcoming and so very helpful ...
We just returned after a relaxing stay over the bank holiday weekend at Brynawel Farm .. the family room was very comfortable, the breakfast was delicious( the egg white scrambled eggs were perfect!), the setting of the farm is absolutely heavenly with gorgeous views and a tranquil garden where my husband and could relax a bit after a long day out.
Christine went out of her way to help us with dinner reservations and suggestions on beaches to visit which was greatly appreciated by us.
Our children enjoyed feeding the fish with Christine after breakfast and they thoroughly enjoyed chatting with her! Christine makes everyone feel so very comfortable and "at home" .
This truly has been one of the nicest little farms that we have visited and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a visit to Wales.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine l, Owner at Brynawel Farm, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
so glad you enjoyed your stay .I learnt that you could make scrambled eggs with just the white! Thank you ! The children were a delight .Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

lovely cup of tea on arrival.. great hosts..accommodation very clean & comfy.. and fresh eggs collected that morning for brekkie.. that really cant be beaten!................
booked in at the last minute as a location local for swansea.. but out of town with fresh air and countryside.. towels and bedding provided fresh and fragrant.. all in all great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine l, Owner at Brynawel Farm, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Glad you enjoyed, the duck eggs are great aren't they? Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The owners offer a wonderful warm and friendly atmosphere that immediately makes you feel at home, If you like dogs, theirs are well behaved, friendly and great fun, and get on well with other dogs, If you don't, the dogs can be kept unobtrusively out of sight. Both Christine and Martin are very approachable, and extremely helpful, and cook a wonderfully satisfying traditional breakfast. The rooms are airy, clean, with excellent shower and bathroom, and offer extensive views of the surrounding countryside out over their well kept garden. You may eat out in a variety of local pubs and a restaurant, and both Christine and martin give you good advice as to the merits of each. Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine l, Owner at Brynawel Farm, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast! Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for just one night but we were made to feel so welcomed. I cannot fault the hosts, the establishment or its location, everything was just great. I would recommend staying here to anyone. The rooms were spacious and very clean & comfortable, the breakfast was hearty and cooked just right and finally the hosts were very friendly, helpful & kind. You couldn't ask for more than this, could you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine l, Owner at Brynawel Farm, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
So glad you enjoyed , hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night and had a great time. I had struggled to book in somewhere at late notice and had been in contact with Christine the week before to plea for a room. Christine contacted me when a late cancellation came in and the level of thoughtful service continued from there. I was made to feel very welcome and felt at home. The garden area was a beautiful and peaceful place to relax with a breath taking view of the Welsh countryside. A hearty breakfast, the very reasonable price of my stay and good local knowledge and advice helped me make the most of my time there. I'll be booking in again if I find myself up that way!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine l, Owner at Brynawel Farm, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We were so glad we were able to sort out a room for you,and I was so glad I stopped my husband giving you a lift in his convertible.Men !! after all that time doing your hair lol!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and had a lovely stay. Very welcoming hosts, comfortable and clean room, beautiful garden with great views of countryside, pond with fish, friendly dogs, excellent breakfast with eggs provided by the ducks. Don't be put off by the picture on the website which seems to show gigantic power lines right above - you don't notice them at all and the views are unimpeded. Would stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfactory20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine l, Owner at Brynawel Farm, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Glad you enjoyed and your dogs were lovely especially the little terrier .Thanks for pointing out about power lines in picture ,I hadn't noticed and of course as you said they are infact nowhere near.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
9.2 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
162 reviews
14.1 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
153 reviews
6.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#10 of 22 in Swansea
212 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynawel Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynawel Farm

Property: Brynawel Farm
Address: Brynawel Farm Brynbach Road | Pontlliw, Swansea, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Brynawel Farm Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing