We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Ghost hunt' was appalling”

Gower Heritage Centre
Ranked #21 of 121 things to do in Swansea
Attraction details
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“'Ghost hunt' was appalling”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited the heritage centre for the first time during their 'ghost hunt' and it was a terrible experience. The organisation of the event was awful, with inadequate parking, no staff available for help, no directions to any of the activities, and terrible food.

The ghost hunt activities were very few and far between and consisted of a couple of story tellers retelling the history of the site, which you could easily have found out yourself online. There was a tarot card reader and psychic readings available, but they were £10 a go and definitely not worth that kind of money on top of the entrance fee.

There was literally nothing at this event that was worth paying for, it was just a chance to walk around the centre in the dark.

Having been on a couple of Cardiff's History and Hauntings ghost walks, this sorry excuse of an event was not even caparable and ten times the cost (thankfully we bought the tickets from groupon). I would strongly discourage anyone from paying to visit this event if it does run again, unless it is completely overhauled, as it was just awful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LucyW1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    107
    71
    29
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ghost hunt”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I bought a ghost hunting ticket for the ghost hunt even they ran last night.
what a disappointment.
no ghost hunting..... nothing. was basically, just the heritage centre open at night. with a couple of talks in some rooms about, ghosts that had been seen. that was it. gutted.
i know i was not the only one gutted, talked to LOADS of people and everyone seemed to feel the same. what a let down this 'ghost hunt' was.
can safely say that im glad i had the tickets on offer from groupon, if i had paid £35 i would have demanded a refund.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BritneyDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foelgastell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well run”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited this watermill today and we really enjoyed the visit.
The centre is well run, lots of activities for children even in a wet day.
The price is good and we used the Tesco Days Out vouchers. You can pay 2 extra pounds per person for a cream tea from the entrance. The cream tea was delicious.
The centre has great educational values. There are lots of machineries and lots of animals. 2 adorable cats say welcome at the entrance.
Is plenty of fresh air in the forest and little waterfall in the back.
We really enjoyed the time out here today.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danase66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Animal park needs sprucing!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place was ok, most of the staff were nice, i don't think the heritage centre quite knows what it's meaning to be, but it's made a good effort at being an enjoyable day out. Visiting the animal park was a little depressing though. Gorgeous animals, all looked very healthy, and lots of varieties I've never seen before. But The cages and fences looked really run down, and the pond was mostly just rubble and exposed concrete around the edges which didn't look very nice, just needs a bit of a spruce! Nice place for the kids, lots to do for them, including indoor play areas by the tearooms and an outdoor climbing frame. They enjoyed

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brill”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Loved it, brill for the little ones and the oldies. Some lovely shows and bought some great prezzies.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jules62_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gower Heritage Centre also viewed

 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Gower Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing