We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill”

Gower Heritage Centre
Ranked #21 of 121 things to do in Swansea
Attraction details
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brill”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Loved it, brill for the little ones and the oldies. Some lovely shows and bought some great prezzies.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jules62_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    108
    71
    29
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND -
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Waste of money, poor animals”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I can't believe they charge people to go into this place. We paid our entrance fee and everything was shut down, all we could do was walk around the animal section. This was depressing in itself, the cages were dirty, small and the conditions seemed to be somewhat cruel. The trout lake was a pond full of mud and dirt, that I can't believe any fish would survive in it. The place is terribly run down and we were in and out of there in about 10 mins, I should have received a refund!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank olivia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
“Very interesting”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice heritage centre with a 17th century working water mill. Some shops and a lovely area with small animals , birds, rabbits etc. which children love. Can go in and view eggs being hatched. The children loved to see a little chick hatching from the egg.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great inexexpensive place for younger children”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Heritage Centre is housed in an old, working mill and is a not-for-profit organisation. Admittance is inexpensive. There a are a lot of interesting historic things to see for slightly older children but I think it is best suited to children up to about 8 years old. There is a small "zoo" with all kinds of chickens, ducks, geese etc, some goats, pigs, miniture ponies, rabbits etc. There is an excellent children's playground with slides, climbing frames and sandpits. There is a puppet theatre and other entertainment for children. Throughout the summer special theme weekends are put on for adults too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrandyCoveRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unsure of what it was or why it deserved our money”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very unsure of its purpose, think of a petting zoo, a museum, a craft fair and a junkyard all crammed into one. A lot of the attractions were just things that someone felt the need to wite a plaque for purley because they were there with little sense of focus or indeed purpose (there was even a cabinet of junk with the notice asking customers to tell the staff what they were, I think it was an activity for kids but it wasnt clear).

Not somewhere I'd want to go back to but the swarms of tiny children there seemed to be having fun so maybe somewhere to take the kids.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gower Heritage Centre also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Gower Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing