We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding destination - go there now”
Review of Cwmdonkin Park

Cwmdonkin Park
Ranked #22 of 121 things to do in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Outstanding destination - go there now”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have known about Cwmdonkin Park forever - have visited the adjacent home of Dylan Thomas and have been to Swansea countless times, but this month for the first time I went with family to Cwmdonkin Park. It was a complete joy to find it in such excellent shape - the gardens and paths very well maintained - people enjoying the free tennis and a simply superb cafe. The cafe stands out for the quality of the coffee - the homemade cakes and the warm welcome by the proprietor. She even put on a LP of Richard Burton reading the Hunchback in the Park - is that customer service or what? This splendid park is a credit to the City of Swansea and to all those who are responsible for it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank penarthguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    34
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“7th September 2013”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Despite living in Sketty Swansea for 42 years I had never visited Cwmdonkin Park, but saw that there was an event organised by Friends of Cwmdonkin on 7th September following its regeneration. I went with my 5 yr old son and a friend with her 2 young children who had visited the park often.We all had a fab time, the friends of Cwmdonkin Park were there and were really informative and obviously very passionate about this lovely place. There was live music, singing, dancing, poetry recitals (of course), local produce, stilt walkers, face painting, environmental stalls and more. We had a prior invite to a party that evening and had to leave at 5pm and were both disappointed to leave as the atmosphere and surroundings were so nice. The Uplands itself is having a revival and is becoming a really unique and cwtchy place to be with lovely independent bars and cafes and a monthly street market. The park is a little gem in the middle of all this bustle, has its own cafe, great play area for the kids and fab natural wooden sculptures. We will be going there again soon and I hope the party becomes an annual event.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vintage-Fern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“green fuse celebration 7/9/13”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

i attended this event which was organised by the friends of cwmdonkin park and it was an excellent day out, it was nice to see families of all ages enjoying the event. The park has been upd dated and the new cafe is very good and the staff are very helpful and the service was very good. I really enjoyed the day and would recommend people to go to any other events which are being organised. There was music organised on the day, different types of music but something for everyone. The event was well orgainsed and there was vaious enterntainment including stilt walkers for the children and vaious work shops including guitar lessons,face painting and various other group events which the children really enjoyed.l would certainly go to any other events and will make sure friends know about the events. It is nice to know that there is a good park which is being looked after in Swansea. Lastly i would like to thank the friends of cwmfonkin park who arranged this event and who do this work voluntaryily and give up their free time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanerfyl, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little haven!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Cwmdonkin Park is a little haven of peace overlooking the bustling warmth of Swansea town. I visited the park as part of its regeneration celebrations on September 7th and it was just beautiful! Apart from being such a special place in my heart because of the importance Dylan Thomas' work had in my formative years, the park will now be seared on my memory as being the very first place I played and sang with my eldest son Mabon in our musical turn during the celebrations! Diolch am y croeso!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Green Fuse Celebration.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a great event the 'Green Fuse Celebration' was, it was fantastic to se the park brought to life after the recent renovations. All hustle & bustle among the stalls, performers, poets & musicians. Thanks to the 'Friends of Cwmdonkin Park' for coordinating such an amazing day. I'll certainly be back next year..!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cwmdonkin Park also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Cwmdonkin Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing