We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great evening”

The Waterfront Beefeater
Ranked #213 of 645 Restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Beefeater Grill that opened in the SA1 development in Swansea, in November 2010
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great evening”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a family meal here last Saturday evening and the food, ambience and staff were excellent. Aaron, our waiter, was wonderful and couldn't do enough to help us. We would appreciate that our gratitude towards him is passed on. Thoroughly enjoying evening, despite the poring rain! Thank you Waterfront, we'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    121
    88
    57
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“lovely family restaurant”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Have eaten in lots of beefeater inns, This one and `The Albert` in Colchester are still my favourites. This one wins because of its location!!
Really great food, and service always good. We usually go as a family with our two year old grand daughter. Always made to feel welcome.
Sunday lunch is our favourite and we always share our adult meals with little one. Staff are always happy to help us.
Great selection of food and good quality. Deserts (especially profiteroles) are fabulous.
Overall great service with very good food at reasonable prices.
Thank you

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italy186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal and Service quicker than Expected”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Decided to take a break from my normal boring lunchtime sandwich, myself and a colleague decided to venture out for lunch to meet another colleague on Maternity Leave

Was a little bit wary of the venue due to word of mouth that 'service was terrible - very slow'

Upon arriving, it seemed this may have rung true as there was only ONE member of staff, serving both the bar along with seating customers in the restaurant - ' o dear i thought - this is going to take a while'

Was pleasantly suprised at the lovely calm manner of the barmaid in serving us our drinks, along with taking our order - she explained the manager was interviewing ! seemed like an odd time to hold interviews - but i hope she hired more staff !!

Our food arrived quite promptly - I had paprika chicken, and one of my colleagues had Gammon, the other Steak - we were all delighted with the food - clean plates all round

We sat at Table 10, which was slightly cold - unsure if this was due to air con, or being beside a window - but wasnt too unpleasant

All in all - an enjoyable experience

The restaurant/bar could benefit from more staff - especially during a key time of the day - but considering the barmaid was on her own - she did an exceptional job of delivering good customer service and being attentive, while having a cool,calm and professional manner

Will return

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food, but very slow service”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had enjoyable evening lovely bar area, booked the table for 730 was not even informed the table was ready had to approach the waiter, who just pointed to the table and left the menus on the table, then when it came to ordering the meal, had to approach the waiter to place and order, somewhat poor service, but the food is very good and good size portions. Will be returning lets hope the service does improve

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welshbonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waterfront eating.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The occasion was a Saturday lunchtime birthday treat for my brother-in-law (6 of us in all), the others had all eaten here before but it was my first time. The restaurant is nicely decorated with pleasant views over the dock, the food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful, although the service did slow up as it got busier (apparently 2 waiters had gone off sick).
Best and worst things about the restaurant is the location! Being on the edge of Swansea near the waterfront makes it very pleasant but a bit remote, it's a bus ride, a bit of a walk or a quite expensive council car park (nearly £4 for 3 hours)!
Certainly worth a visit, especially if you are strolling around the marina.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Beefeater also viewed

 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to The Waterfront Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing