We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely shambolic.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Beefeater

The Waterfront Beefeater
Ranked #198 of 640 Restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Beefeater Grill that opened in the SA1 development in Swansea, in November 2010
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely shambolic.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Waited for an hour, waitress said bill was free after complaint, waited another half hour when food came. Food was awful, no value of it whatsoever.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RhiJohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    117
    83
    52
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Waited a long time for food, but it was a busy Friday evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Twelve of us were booked in to celebrate my mother’s 70th birthday. I arranged to take her cake, balloons and banners down the night before as she was travelling with us on the night. Both Nick and Cerys were extremely helpful and accommodating and can't thank them enough!
We did wait a long time for our waiter, Aaron to take our order and also waited a long time in between courses but it was a very busy Friday evening. A lot of rowdy Irish guests in the bar - probably staying in the Premier Inn for the International weekend. Also with there being 12 of us you expect to wait a bit longer for your food.
Food was great, chips a liitle cold, but fresh ones were brought out, steaks amazing!
Primarily I would like to thank Cerys, Nick and Aaron who were all very accommodating and helpful - they couldn't do enough for us and made the night a little more special!
Will definitely return, only thing I was gutted about was that I forgot to give my Reward Card over and lost out on 300 quids worth of points! But will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackArmy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friday after work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

A spur of the moment visit last Friday after work.

While this might sound negative, it showed that the staff were great. It had sowed heavily, not all staff arrived, the heating was broken and limited availability due to missed deliveries. In honesty, considering the weather, I was the dull one heading out for a meal.

Location was great. parking next door. lovely decor and layout within the restaurant.

We were greeted and given the bad news. We were happy to stay as it wasn't cold and there was still food on the menu for us.

Steaks were great. Loved the sides we had too. Had a 50% off voucher as I had registered on their mailing list in advance. It's somewhere I will return.

Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“my romantic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

the breakfast was amazing i loved it that it was all you can eat, the food was always nice and hot and i would definatley recomment a friend to stay there the staff are very friendly and you recieve a warm welcome from them they have a brilliant daytime/evening menue with mouthwatering deserts on offer too

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Haven't been to a Beefeater restaurant for +10 years; was pleasently suprised.
My wife and I both had steaks, fillet and T-bone, which were cooked perfectly and tasted delicious.
The atmosphere and decor is lovely.
No free car park; pay and display next door.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Beefeater also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Waterfront Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing