We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Condition”
Review of 1940s Swansea Bay

1940s Swansea Bay
Ranked #29 of 120 things to do in Swansea
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Winter Opening Times (Sept to Easter): Closed Saturdays. Open Sunday to Fri 10am, last admission 2.30pm. The new access road 'Amazon Way'has been completed, now work will begin on new houses behind our site. A big thank you to all our visitors for your patience with the dust and debris this brings. Visitors are encouraged to pick up and handle items and take photographs. The museum is constantly evolving and in response to visitor demand we built a small walk through indoor trench and dugout to commemorate the sacrifices of the Great War 1914-18. The main indoor street scene continues to display life during the Second World War, as you walk past an RAF Operations Room, through an air raid Shelter and into our 1940s street. Play the piano in the Three Lamps Pub then have a Camp coffee in our gift shop, where we sell replica Ration books, identity cards and wartime recipe books. Just 2 minutes from Jnc 42 of the M4. We have school groups visiting most weekdays during term times so may have to close on occasional weekends or even a weekday for essential works. Onsite parking. Admission charge applies.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Condition”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The building is in poor condition with a leaking roof. The outdoor exhibits are in even worse condition. The indoor exhibits are OK but a little confusing with a mock-up living room containing 3 wireless radios and another room containing a tank shell plus anti-aircraft ammunition on a dressing table (these should be a separate exhibit). Another room contains mostly junk scattered around with items piled against an exit door (there was a piano accordion in a box - you had to open it to see it - not on display properly). Also some items were not from the 1940s.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MAFMAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1940s_Swansea_Bay, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments, all feedback is important to us. It's disappointing that you didn't raise your points with a member of staff on the day of your visit - space is very restricted as you are no doubt aware so in the very popular clothes dressing up room we also allow all visitors to handle the training and deactivated shells to experience the weight and size. Many think this is a fantastic opportunity not often experienced and I'm sorry if you were disappointed by this. During June and early July the room you referred to as 'full of junk' is where we give lessons to visiting school groups, and last week alone the average group size was 50-60 so during term time many of the artefacts are temporarily moved to one side ( the door marked as a 'fire exit' is no longer in use as such and we have now removed the signs - again this would have been pointed out to you by a member of staff if you had mentioned it). Many of the 'non 1940' items are handled by children - we get about 4,000 school children visit each year - and the original items would simply not survive this. We are a small family run museum and it is disappointing for us to get comments on TripAdvisor that could have been answered on the day. We do strive hard in a difficult recession with NO funding at all and try to be all things to all people We allow items to be picked up and handled, you can sit on our period furniture and take photos. Many museums simply do not allow any of this. Yes our building is fairly old and is worn around the edges but we try very hard to offer a bit of fun in dressing up whilst learning about what for many were very dark times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    10
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The war years”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The place could do with a bit of a facelift. The staff were very good but expected a larger display of the times.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank michael62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1940s_Swansea_Bay, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Our exhibits and street scene cover life on the Home Front in general balanced with local photos of the town centre of Swansea before and after it was destroyed by bombing in 1941. There are numerous photos of local people in the 1940s and the museum is over 3,000 square feet so I’m a bit confused about your comment that you expected “a larger display about the times”. We are a small family run and funded museum with NO aid from the public purse, I do hope you’re not comparing us with museums that receive millions of pounds of public funding.

For every one comment on Trip Advisor there are 10 or more in our visitor’s book, and at the same time as your visit these included “Fair play excellent museum very impressed”; “A fabulous informative time for pupils & teachers alike”; “Well Laid out and very informative”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great afternoon out”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I took my 8 year old daughter to the museum and we spent a great 2 hours there. she loved trying on all the clothes and uniforms on and i must admit so did I!! the street was great to walk down and investigate and i would have loved a pint in the pub!! there was lots of information on hand and it was a great way to spend an afternoon.
The only slight criticism i have is that although the quiz is great for the children, it was a shame there was no prize at the end, when she went to hand it in. Even a 20p freddo chocolate would have done. Perhaps this could be looked at in the near future, cos the prize doesn't have to be much, but I think it would add to the day for the kids.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank adresmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about your time with us and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit. The point you make about a small prize for the youngsters on completing the quiz is a good one. In our first year we did give a pencil with our logo on and you're quite right in saying how much it meant to children. It is something that we have overlooked recently and I'm pleased to say that we have re-started from 1st May giving a small gift of a pencil, rubber or similar on completion of the quiz. I do hope that you'll be able to visit again soon and claim yours!

Our next event Living History event will be over the Whitsun Bank Holiday 25-27th May 13 and we will be taking part in many events across South Wales this summer, details on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ten out of ten for committment”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a private museum, that is, not government funded. The entrance fee sustains the museum and it is well worth the money. It is certainly a place that South Wales schools should visit as it is very easily accessible from the M4. Older visitors will enjoy the trip down memory lane and you can have a spam sandwich. There are plenty of exhibits and a film show. What is interesting to see is how dowdy and colourless our lives were. Everything is drab and brown - that's not a criticism of the exhibits - that's how we were. I disagree strongly with Gerard O - did he expect his kids to be given real guns! There is a matter of Health and Safety and the exhibits that the children can handle have to be clean and strong. Things get pilfered too so be more sympathetic to the owners.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank crinkleyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it's refreshing that someone understands how difficult it is to allow an unrestricted 'hands on' experience to visitors of all ages.
During living history events here we do display original and reproduction equipment and a range of weapons ranging from deactivated to blank firing and even live weapons- at Easter 2013 re-enactors fired American Civil War muskets!
I hope that you'll be able to visit for our next event over the Whitsun Bank Holiday 25-27th May 13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun at 1940 swansea”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

very intresting,my boys loved dressing up & my partner & I loved the photos & old tins & memerobilia

Helpful?
Thank Menna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your visit. I do hope you'll be able to call in again, perhaps when we have some of our living history re-enactors in. Details will be on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1940s Swansea Bay also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to 1940s Swansea Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing